Little House In The Ozarks

IMG_0442

Welcome to my new blog! To those of you have been with me since the beginning, thank you for going to the trouble of signing up and signing in. I give you props for running through the woods, stumbling over stones, fording the raging rivers and chopping down the door with an axe to get into my blog.

For now, the blog is password protected. Not only will this be much easier, but it is the only way I could figure out how to lock down the blog, but also allow you to receive email notifications. If you would like to receive email notifications when I make a new blog post, there is a sign up form at the very bottom right of this page. Put in your email address and click ‘submit’. You will receive a confirmation email and you will need to make sure you click on the ‘confirm follow’ button.

As most of you know, we have been looking for property to move to when Bud retires at the end of next year (May 2014). We have wanted to get a fixer-upper that is inexpensive enough that we can start paying on it and working on it before we have to move. We have been going up to the Ozarks to look at property (as often as we have been able) since November of 2012, and we think we have finally found ‘the one’.

April 2013 (House) 054

We have a contract on a house and some land in Northwest Arkansas.  If all goes as well as it has so far, we will be closing on May 24. We feel really blessed. We have gotten a really great price on it because it is a major fixer upper (emphasis on MAJOR). The taxes per YEAR will be as much as we currently pay in ONE MONTH for our current house. That will really lower the cost we will be paying per month.

We love the land and the area in which it is located.  It feels like peaceful refuge.

Pond across the street.
Pond across the road.

In the near future, I’ll post more pictures of the outside of the house, the land around it, and the inside of the house as it is. I’ll post about our plans for the house and document the improvements we are making on the house. Eventually, I’ll post about what is going on in our lives as we settle into our new life in our little house. I might even throw in a post or two about my chickens…because I think chickens are important.

I have asked Bud if he will be a co-contributor to the blog, but he turned me down. I hope that he will change his mind because I think it would be interesting for family and friends to get a different perspective on things from time to time.

To say that we are excited is an extreme understatement! I have dreamed about this time in our lives, when Bud would be retired and we could have a place in the country, for a VERY long time.

Northwest 0538

We have already been talking about different ways we can re-work the floor plan and different concepts we have for the inside of the house.  We are counting down the days toward closing, and dreaming of the day it will be all ours.

We might very well be camping outside at first due to the condition of the inside of the house, but honestly, I think I could camp there forever and be perfectly content!

Stay tuned for…the rest of the story.

IMG_0449

8 thoughts on “Little House In The Ozarks

      1. Thank you for signing up, Lee Ann. We are very excited, too. YES! The porch is a love that we share. 🙂 I anticipate many hours of sitting out on it.

        Like

    1. Thank you, Bug! …and thank you for going to the trouble of signing up. We are excited too! Bud has some great ideas, and we’ve talked about all sorts of possibilities. I can’t wait to see how it turns out. It will be fun documenting it all.

      Like

  1. Great looking place and beautiful terrain. You two are going to have so much fun fixing it up. I believe our King had this available just for you. Praise His Name!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by to read my blog, Aunt Suzanne!! We really are looking forward to working on it together, in fact, we can hardly wait to get started.

      I think you are right about the Lord picking this one out for us. Everything has just seemed to work out so far. The real estate agent that has been working with us is a very nice Christian man too. He just happened to answer our email about a property and we started working with him.

      We are feeling very blessed.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

