We are actually going to close on the house!!

I haven’t written much about the process of getting the house because things have been in major limbo! I wanted to wait until I was sure we were going to close and I had details to share before I said anything else.

Long story short, the first Mortgage Lender was giving us the runaround and kept on putting us off. Even our Real Estate Agent said he had never experienced anything like what we were going through. He suggested that we go with a local bank there in Arkansas, we did, and we are closing this Thursday, June 27, at 11:00 a.m.!

We will be leaving early this morning after the chickens are taken care of. One of Bud’s students who works at the zoo will be taking care of them while we are gone. I met her and trained her last night and I think she will do great!

It will be a long 10-11 hour drive there. We are staying at a hotel tonight. On Thursday Morning we will have to drive 30 miles to sign papers to get Mortgage Insurance before the closing. Everything converged at the last minute (I’ll spare you the details) so we are stuck getting insurance at the last minute. We’ll go straight to the closing after the insurance is taken care of.

After closing, it’s our intention to go out to the house with the sole purpose being to shore up the chicken coop so that we will be able to put the chickens directly into the coop when we bring them back up there. You are supposed to put them directly into the hen house and leave them there for a day before letting them out so that they will know that is their new home, and will come home to roost once they are turned loose.

We will stay in the hotel on Thursday night and head back home on Friday. It will take all day to get back home, but our Real Estate Agent said that there is an Elk Festival in Jasper that is supposed to be really neat. I’d like to stop by there on the way out just to see what it is all about. Don’t know if that will happen or not. We’ll see. The pet sitter will shut the chickens up on Friday night so it won’t matter how late we get home.

The plan is to turn around after we get back home, pack up the two cars with stuff we’ll need for a long stay, the camping gear, and stuff to work on the place. We’ll also pack up the cat and the chickens, and bring them with us. More on that later.

We are so excited! Thank you all for your prayers. I’m taking my camera, so I plan to get more pictures to share. It should look completely different now that it’s summer. I’ll have my laptop with me and they will have WIFI at the hotel, so if I have anything interesting to tell, or pictures to show, I’ll make another post while we are up there.

8 thoughts on “We are actually going to close on the house!!

  1. Oh Kara, this is so exciting! Congratulations! I’m envisioning you finally walking around the property, knowing it is ALL YOURS. You’ll have to let me know what your new mailing address is when you actually get moved in, okay? Hope you slept good last night. I can’t wait to see the pictures.
    It’s pretty hot here today but I’m hoping to putter around my own place and watch the kids play.
    HUGS!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Shanda! I will send you the address…we won’t be moving in until next year when Bud retires, though. t really WAS exciting to walk on the property for the first time when it was finally ours. 🙂 Hope y’all are staying cool up there! It seems that everyone in the country is having a heat wave the past few days.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

