A Little Bit of This and That

100213_1527_ALittleBito1.jpg(Photo that was shared, and shared and shared on the Internet)

silver-divider

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been diagnosed with ‘Benign MS’. That doesn’t mean that I don’t have very real symptoms caused by the lesions (I do), but it means that I have a ‘mild case’ that probably won’t get any worse than it already is, or put me in a wheelchair. I have fatigue, balance issues, cognitive difficulties, speech problems, and problems with nerve pain in my legs among other things. These symptoms can come and go depending on environmental issues, stress, illness, etc.

I have been struggling with debilitating fatigue lately, and at times, very bad headaches. It really makes everything I do an effort and steals my motivation, my creativity and my joy. The fatigue often keeps me plastered to the couch for much of the day. Multiple Sclerosis is different for everyone who has it because the lesions are in different places on the brain, which control and affect different parts of the body. One of the most common symptoms to all who have it is the fatigue.

Much of the time, I am able to push through my symptoms, then I get slammed with something and I wail to Bud, “I just don’t know what is wrong with me,” and then he reminds me that maybe it is the MS.

This is not a post about MS. It’s an explanation as to why I haven’t been blogging much, as well as an explanation for the weirdness of this post.

This blog was meant to be about the property we just bought, the progress we make as we fix it up, and eventually, our life there as we settle in. Until then, I’m lacking for subject material, so what follows is a hodgepodge of what is going on with me.

92ae9ef8036cca614a7ccbbae0647743

(Found on an Internet Wallpaper Site)

I don’t know what the protocol is for giving credit to the many photos that are shared on the Internet. Sometimes they are shared on Facebook, Pinterest or forwards in email. If I see one that moves me, or which I  want to use as background on my computer, I’ll save it in a folder. I don’t save obvious personal photos from blogs. I’ve had some of these pictures for years. I don’t have many of my own photos to share today, so I’m going to use some I’ve collected. Those are noted with  ‘found on the Internet’.

Photos for my blog are what hold up much of my blog posts. Either I haven’t taken any, or the are deemed ‘not good enough’ by myself. I’ve always read that you need photos on your blog to draw people in. I can see how that is true. I see so many beautiful photos on blogs of people who have a ‘life’. I can’t compete. I know I have those things around me here somewhere, I just need to find them and learn how to capture them. I’m planning on taking a photography e-course soon, and hopefully share some of what I learn with you.

I have been struggling with a bit of depression (another symptom that many people with MS deal with from time to time). I had a really bad reaction to anti-depressants years ago. I’m always looking for natural cures for things, and I stumbled upon the following site which deals with vitamin therapy, and I’ve started taking Niacin and more Vitamin C, along with the others, such as Vitamin D, that I normally take.

http://www.doctoryourself.com/index.html

What I found most fascinating was the use of high doses of Niacin to treat depression. Here is a short video about Niacin’s use in treating depression:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K2tqxKf2EE

If you want more info on Niacin in treating depression and other neurological problems, here is a fascinating (but much longer) interview with Dr. Mercola interviewing Dr. Andrew Saul about his use of Niacin.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ru6IPFPeTQ&feature=relmfu

1378674_552888594784803_1646444491_n(Found on the Internet)

I generally enjoy cooking, and no matter how bad I feel, I always cook from scratch and try to prepare healthy meals (because I want to feel good), but I don’t always have the creativity or motivation to make them look good or take a picture of it. I had a few good days recently and was inspired to make a pretty meal.

100213_1527_ALittleBito3.jpg

Sep25 004

I don’t have any real recipes for this meal, so here is basically what I did (if you are interested):

Chicken with Mushrooms:

1) Put the chicken in a plastic bag and pound it with a rolling pin to tenderize.

2) Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

3) Put a tablespoon of butter in a pan and brown both sides of chicken breast on medium high heat.

4) Remove the chicken from the pan and set aside.

5) Add a little more butter to the pan and sautee mushrooms.

6) When the mushrooms are done, add a tiny bit of water to deglaze the pan and get all of that brown goodness off the bottom of the pan.

7) Add some heavy cream to the pan, and stir until it starts thickening. Add salt and pepper to taste.

8) Add chicken breasts back to the pan and flip to coast with gravy. Heat until chicken is hot and done.

9) Serve on a bed of raw spinach.

Acorn Squash:

1) Cut acorn squash in half and scoop out seeds and pulp with a spoon.

2) Turn halves of squash upside down (cut side facing down) into a casserole dish with about ½ an inch of water.

3) Bake on 350 degrees for about an hour or until soft.

4) Flip the halves right side up. Put a tablespoon of butter in each half, with about a teaspoon of Sucanat (or brown sugar) in the middle. Sprinkle some extra on the sides.

5) Put underneath the broiler for about 15 minutes.

This might not be considered to be healthy to some, depending on which diet you follow, or what your thoughts are. Right now, I’m trying to avoid wheat. It makes me feel bad and puffs me up. Other than that, we cut out most sugar, processed foods, legumes and wheat. For us, butter and cream are ‘good fats’.

path-in-autumn(Found on the Internet)

I have always wanted to keep a journal, and have always failed miserably. I’m not sure why. My handwriting is atrocious, no matter how hard I try. It’s also physically painful to write for long periods of time due to the MS. I love spiral notebooks, and I have a boatload of them.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve started a journal in one of them. I usually rip out the pages of the previous failed and aborted attempt when I start a new one. I don’t know why. It’s pieces of my life that I just threw away because it wasn’t good enough or perfect, I guess.

I found some journal software that I really like! There is a free version, and a professional version that you can try for 30 days, and then purchase. You can add videos and pictures, as well as clips from the internet into it. You can also add sticky tabs which are stagnant for each day with the professional version.

It’s called I-Diary Daily:

http://www.splinterware.com/download/index.htm

1384274_552887288118267_1635803723_n

(Found on the Internet)

A while back, I started a Gratitude Journal. I have gone back to it from time to time. It was inspired by Ann Voskamp’s  book, “One Thousand Gifts.”

http://onethousandgifts.com/

I totally agree that it helps to count our blessings and be grateful for and focus on the good things in our life…to pay attention to all of the little details we so often miss in each day. I had trouble with the book. The last chapter was ‘out there’ and it bothered me so much I immediately threw the book in the trash after I finished. You should read it and come to your own conclusions. I think the general idea is a good one. Counting our blessings, and looking for the small gifts in our everyday life that we are blessed with makes one a happier person. She states the statistic that people who keep a gratitude journal are 25% happier than those who don’t. I believe it.

In my new I-Diary I have re-started my Gratitude Journal.

Another thing I am including in my I-Diary is a daily prayer. Wow. I pray off and on all day. I pray on my knees far less than I should. Writing my prayers down has been a real eye opener!

One of my favorite quotes is,

“How do I know what I think until I see what I say?” – E.M. Forster

I have problems speaking, partially because I am an introvert, but these days, the MS has affected my speaking as well. The words have trouble formulating in my brain and making it out of my mouth sometimes. With writing, the words come bursting forth. The above quote is so true for me. Why am I so shocked that my written prayers are the same way? I am expressing my deepest thoughts to the Lord on paper in a more genuine way than I ever do when I pray in my head or out loud. This is some kind of breakthrough for me. If you’ve never tried writing your prayers down, I urge you to try it…especially if you consider yourself to be a better writer, than speaker.

autumn-barn-in-fall-leaves-wallpapers-1024x768(Crazy-Frankenstein.com)

 I just started reading Stormie Omartian’s new book, “Prayer Warrior.” All of her books have touched me deeply, and set me back on the right path when I have been in a spiritual slump. Her books, “Power of a Praying Wife,”  “Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On,” and “Lord, I Want To Be Whole” turned my life around during very dark periods in my life. If you have never read one of her books, I highly recommend them.

I believe prayer is so important. I have Stormie Omartian’s prayer booklets for ‘Power of a Praying Wife” and “Power of a Praying Woman,” and I have seen so many of these prayers answered. All of her prayers are based on scripture. All of the prayers are in the books, but she also has ‘prayer booklets’ which are only the prayers, and make it more handy to use the prayers on a daily basis.

If you pray, I am requesting your prayers right now. I’m very discouraged, and down spiritually as well as physically.

11 thoughts on “A Little Bit of This and That

  1. Good to hear from you and enjoyed the pics, too. Did not know you had a definite diagnosis, but have you considered going up to one of Bro. Scrivner’s services and getting him to pray for you? I have always said that if anyone in my family or I came up with a serious illness that we couldn’t seem to get a healing for, I would want to go there for prayer. He is really in touch with the Almighty. And to let you know, I pray for you along with your whole family continually. It is a routine for me to call out each person’s name in the King’s hearing and bring before Him any known needs.

    I am hearing from various sources that there is to be a big end time revival where we’ll all do miracles with signs and wonders. I can’t wait for that to happen.

    I was at Lisa’s last week taking care of the pets and am going back over in the morning for two days to stay again. She adopted a deaf dog and he has special needs. Gena has gone to the hill country for a couple of months to look for some property. She took her two dogs and that leaves Cooper alone with the cats. Lisa said he was kinda down and needing alot of attention. All three dogs have been together since she got Cooper, so I’m sure he doesn’t understand where the others are. And has no one to run with him in the back yard. Kinda sad because Lisa is gone all day except for coming home at noon to let him out. She gives him plenty of attention when she is at home.

    Well, I’ve gotta go for now. Take care of your self. I am going to read up on the niacin article for depression because I have a couple of friends on anti depressants and would like to see them get on something natural. Will check on you in a few days. Love you

    Like

  2. Dear Kara, I will be praying for you and I love what you share about being an introvert and how it helps you to write your prayers, *I totally understand* you on this because I am the same way. In fact, some of my anxiety/sad times comes from being an introvert TRYING to be extroverted!!! Going against nature. It’s hard to know what’s right sometimes. I want to grow and develop but it is so hard for me in social situations!
    Anyway. I’m sorry about your struggles and the diagnosis that you have received. It completely stinks. 😦
    PS. Does listening to music help you at these times? What’s your favorite kind? I ask b/c I have been listening to Audrey Assad’s new album but it might be to introspective for you right now, do you need light and happy or deep and meaningful?

    Like

    1. Actually, I like ‘Deep and Meaningful’ the most. I will look up Audrey Assad. I’ve never heard of her/him. Lately, I’ve been l listening to ‘Casting Crowns’. I’ve never listened much to Contemporary Christian music, but I saw the movie ‘Facing The Giants’ and looked up the soundtrack and found ‘Casting Crowns’. The words to their songs move me because I can relate to them.

      I have heard you say that you are Introvert before, but it always takes me aback, and especially that you have trouble in social situations. You seem so well adjusted. I am the same way, though, and I know you are right about going against nature and trying to be an extrovert.

      I got my degree to teach…went back to school later in life to finish it. I thought it was a noble profession, and one I thought I would be good at. Bud is such a good teacher, and it excited me that I might be as fulfilled as he was doing it.

      My first teaching job was as an Elementary Music Teacher, and it was a miserable ‘fail’. I was so stressed out, and felt so out of my element. I did a horrible job. Not saying that Introverts can’t be good teachers, but the stress of feeling like I was ‘on stage’ all day nearly did me in. It was not for me. As an Introvert, I need lots of ‘down time’, or at least time in surroundings that are peaceful and comfortable where I can let my hair down, so to speak.

      I’ve had many varied jobs, and they have all been stressful for me. I came to realize that being at home and supporting my husband behind the scenes was exactly where God wanted me, and I never had any peace until I accepted it and embraced it.

      Society doesn’t necessarily accept that, especially if you are a woman with no children, and that stigma in itself was very hard for me to overcome.

      I feel much more at peace than I’ve ever been, though I still struggle with it at times, and also, to not allow myself to become a hermit.

      I try not to ‘wallow’ in my physical issues, but sometimes the fatigue really gets me down because it makes me even more ‘hermitized’ when I don’t feel good.

      Thank you for your comment and for sharing your heart with me. 🙂 It’s nice to know that someone really understands.

      Like

    2. Thank you for the recommendation! I have been listening on You Tube, and I love her music. I love the words, but her songs also have beautiful, soothing melodies to them. 🙂

      Like

  3. Niacin lowers cholesterol too. A patient of ours was having trouble with his memory because of the statins he was on, so the doctor took him off and put him on Niacin. Why don’t all the doctors use it if it works?? Thank you for the recipes. That picture looks wonderful! I will continue to pray, a break-through is coming in Jesus name!

    Like

    1. I was reading about the cholesterol thing, too. I guess the reasons Doctors won’t prescribe natural things is because they are tied with the Pharmaceutical companies who pressure them to push their drugs. What I have been reading about vitamins has really encouraged me, though.

      If you try the recipes, I hope you enjoy them. I sort of ‘wing’ many of the things I cook. This came out really good. It was as good as the pictures look. We have become very big ‘acorn squash’ fans, lately.

      I really appreciate your prayers!

      Like

  4. Stormie is excellent! I’ve read a couple of her books.

    I never heard of Niacin and I shall see if they sell them in a chewable or dissolvable form. I too suffer from depression. Thanks for sharing this little tidbit!

    It is not easy being an introvert in an extroverted world. That is all I’m going to say about that because I have a holy terror (you know who, Abby Gail) terrorizing me at the moment!

    Prayers!

    Like

    1. If I had to pick an author who has been one of the most influential that I’ve read, I would pick Stormie. I’m so glad you have read some of her books.

      From what I’ve read, you need to get the kind of Niacin that gives you the ‘flush’. Read about the flush before you take it. You might need to work up to a larger dose. The first one made me think I was dying, but I took 500 mg. Every flush after that was not near so bad. It’s also supposed to be good for skin problems. I’ve been having a case of Eczema on my ankle, and I think it is doing better since I’ve started taking the Niacin.

      Thanks for your prayers. 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

