Today I am Officially a Meal Worm Farmer

Oct. 17 2013 023

Chickens love meal worms. Protein is a necessary part of a chicken’s diet. In theory, the Layer Feed should contain everything a chicken needs to live a healthy life. What sets free range chickens and their eggs apart from ‘battery’ chickens who produce ‘grocery store’ eggs and who live out their entire life in a small cage indoors, is the fact that ‘free range’ chickens have access to fresh air, exercise, green plants and, you guessed it…CRITTERS (bugs and worms). This not only makes the hens more healthy, but also makes their eggs more nutritious.

Unfortunately, in a small backyard, the supply of critters runs low after a while. Meal worms are an excellent source of protein and a tasty treat that chickens go nuts for. You can buy them live at the feed store, but you can also buy them freeze-dried. Either way, the price of these juicy morsels adds up quickly.

I stumbled upon a video online on how to raise meal worms. It looked so easy and the start up cost so low, that I decided that it is something I can definitely do to cut costs and easily provide more protein for my chickens.

The Meal Worm is the Larvae stage of the Darkling beetle. There are actually four stages to to it’s life cycle.

  • Egg
  • Larvae
  • Pupae
  • Beetle

The set up for them is cheap and easy. All you need is plastic containers to separate the different stages, food, air, and a water source.

Oct. 17 2013 002

Some people use those three-drawer Sterilite setups. I chose to get a plastic container with a lid. This container is 6.2 quarts and the dimensions are 15″ x 11-1/2″ x 3-1/4″.Β  The cost was between 3-4 dollars for the container and lid.

I poked holes in the top for air. As I move into the other stages and need to separate them, I’m going to glue some wooden blocks, or maybe thread spools on the bottom so that I can stack them and air can still circulate underneath.

The food you choose to use will also be their bedding. You can use oats (full flake or ground), wheat germ, corn meal, etc. I saw a video where the person used chicken feed, and that’s what I chose to do. I ground it up in my Ultimate Chopper. Most everything I’ve read says that the bedding/food needs to be an inch or so thick.

Oct. 17 2013 008

You can buy meal worms at a feed store, and possibly, at a Sporting Goods store. I chose to order mine online because I wanted to start with a larger number. I ordered 1000 of them. This way, it won’t take as long to build up my stock.

I’m wondering if the mail man was curious as to what he was delivering!

Oct. 17 2013 010

Oct. 17 2013 011

Oct. 17 2013 013

They were packaged in a very nice burlap type bag. Inside the bag, were wads of newspaper. I think the worms were actually wrapped up in the newspaper, but they escaped and were all on the inside of the bag and on the outside of the newspaper.

Oct. 17 2013 014Oct. 17 2013 018

Oct. 17 2013 022

While I was setting everything up on the back patio, Eula, who is one of the more curious hens was close by. She kept stealing glances in my direction, but when I looked at her, she acted like she was preoccupied with ‘other things’.

Oct. 17 2013 020

The meal worms settled in nicely, and I think they really like their new ‘digs’. They seem happy. I think I might have even heard one yodeling.

Oct. 17 2013 023

The water source for both the larvae and the beetles is some kind of vegetable. From reading online, it seems that the most popular sources are carrots and potatoes (skin side down). Some also use lettuce or apples (skin side down). A few people said that the apples mold really quickly. The thing to be careful of is mold, because any kind of mold can make your worms sick and cause them to die. Because of this, the vegetables need to be changed out every few days or so.

Oct. 17 2013 048

I decided to test one of the worms out with the chickens. The worms cast lots, and Mr. Mealy drew the short stick and nobly (and quite stoically, I might add) embraced his fate.

Oct. 17 2013 026

Eula-The-Curious was the one who took the bait (no pun intended).

Oct. 17 2013 028

Oct. 17 2013 031

She checked it out first.

Oct. 17 2013 036Then, she pecked it’s head and threw it down on the ground several times. When she was sure she had kilt it ‘daid’, she gobbled it up.

Oct. 17 2013 044

…and then she lifted her head, smacked her beak (the meal worm breath thick in the air), and she looked at me as if to say, “Is that all there is to it?”

Oct. 17 2013 035

Granted, these worms are still very small, and will grow a lot before they enter the pupae stage. I will be posting updates later as the worms go through their different cycles. When the time comes that I have to separate them, I will add different containers to my farm.

Oct. 17 2013 049

9 thoughts on “Today I am Officially a Meal Worm Farmer

  1. The Darkling Beetle?!?!? Are you serious?!?!? They are EVERYWHERE here where I live! I even witness a horrid horrid scene between two of them where one was not cooperative. *shudders* Anyway, I never knew they are the ones that are also meal worms at the larvae stage. I need to see if I can harvest their eggs. oh no, eww. gross! I can’t believe I thought that! LOL. πŸ™‚

    I’m looking forward to future posts about this endeavor!

    Like

    1. Talk about…’horrid scene’…. I want to know more. πŸ™‚

      I think that would be neat to catch a few beatles and see if you can start a colony. From what I understand, they just do their thang, but after a few weeks, you need to remove the beetles from the bedding that they laid their eggs in, because they will eat the eggs. I saw some people who kept all cycles of life in one big container, but I think the cannibalism rate is high with that method.

      Like

  2. I think you missed your calling, You should have been a writer. I really enjoyed this post. But those worms are gross looking. I have finally gotten to where I can pick up a regular garden worms, but I don’t do it too often. I’m sure you are going to have lots of “fun” in your new venture. PS I am still chuckling.

    Like

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it…I didn’t know how people would react to it, because they really are disgusting looking. It’s not easy for me to pick these up either. I think they are one of the most disgusting worms I’ve ever seen!

      Like

  3. Love the photograph in the beginning. I’m assuming its one you took of the road to your land. Eula is happy! How many worms can they have per day?

    Like

    1. Yes, that’s the road that goes right to the side of our house. The view in this pic is facing kind of eastward.

      I’m not sure how many worms they can eat a day. One thing I’ve noticed is that they seem to be pretty meticulous as far as the ratios of things they eat. They seem to have some sort of built-in detector that lets them know when they’ve had enough of some particular carb, protein, or green.

      There have been times when earthworms have come up out of the ground after a rain and onto the patio, and the chickens won’t touch them because they have had their fill. Other times, they love it when I dig shovel fulls of dirt and turn it over. They fight over any worms that might appear when I turn it over.

      Like

  4. Okay. So. I think mealworms are pretty creepy, even the name gives me shudders…HOWEVER, I am totally impressed by this! I’ve gotten the dead and dry ones for my chickens, they love them so much but I don’t like paying the $$ for them. Growing your own is definitely the way to go! Good job, my friend! xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shanda. πŸ™‚ I couldn’t agree with you more about their creepy-ness. I wish you could have heard them in the box before I opened it. *shudder* You should see them munching on the carrots and writhing in their meal. LOL. Well…I guess I’ll do just about anything for my chickens.

      Like

  5. Even if you have in view, no jjob is to do follow-up treatments until tthe
    1500’s did pest control services arrived in our home is suitable for public wellness.
    Though itt is not growing right in front of controllers.
    If you aare not satisfied with the occasional half chewed dried sprat
    waas regared withmuch hispanic comedy patience.

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

