The New Girls

Oct. 19, 2013 002

We went to pick up our new girls on Saturday evening.  Ideally, when adding new chickens to your flock, you are supposed to segregate your new hens for two weeks to a month to make sure they are not sick and so that they don’t contaminate your flock with illness or disease.

We don’t have the space or the setup in our small backyard to do that. I knew from past experience, that introducing new hens to the old flock would not be easy. Girls will be girls, and girls can be MEAN to those outside of their clique. New girls are a threat to the pecking order, so introductions have to be done gently.

Oct. 19, 2013 007

When we put the cage on the back porch, Helen (Black Australorp) came up to the cage immediately, and seemed very curious. Eula (Rhode Island Red) came up and attacked the cage and tried to peck through the holes at the new girls. Not what I had hoped would happen.

Since we couldn’t segregate the new girls indefinitely, I decided to de-worm them, and dust them for mites. It’s a good thing I did, because the next day, I found two piles of poop that were full of worms. The worms were probably about three inches long. (WARNING: Graphic Pile O’ Poop Follows)

Oct.20, 2013 176

After I gave the hens some food and water, we decided to put the old flock in the run, so that the new girls could explore and stretch their legs (and wings) a bit.

Oct. 19, 2013 012

Though they seemed to be excited to be out and about, they eventually went over to the run. They wanted to be with the other girls.

Oct. 19, 2013 041

We experimented with letting the older hens out a few at a time, starting with the most docile of the flock. There were a few skirmishes, but it was not too bad.

When it was time for them to go to bed, I had to put the new girls on the roost. In the morning, after all of the other hens had gone out, the new ones didn’t know to come down and go out. I had to help them along.

Oct.20, 2013 012

When the new girls started to come out toward the patio, the old flock moved away into the corner.

Oct.20, 2013 038

Then they got brave, and started strutting, determined to take back their territory.

Oct.20, 2013 084

Oct.20, 2013 102

…and I heard a song starting to waft through the trees…

When you’re a Jet,
You’re a Jet all the way
From your first cigarette
To your last dyin’ day.

When you’re a Jet,
Let them do what they can,
You got brothers around,
You’re a family man!

You’re never alone,
You’re never disconnected!
You’re home with your own–
When company’s expected,
You’re well protected!

(Click here for Reference)

To make a long story short, they have done remarkably well. I had to put Eula (the Rhode Island Red) in ‘time out’ (in the run by herself) for about an hour yesterday because she was proactively seeking the young hens out to peck them. She had shaped up quite a bit after that. Helen (Black Australorp) much to my dismay, was picking on the young Black Australorp. For the most part, however, the old hens stuck together on one side of the yard, and the new hens stuck together on the other.

Oct.20, 2013 159

The new hens names are:

Mabel (Black Australorp)

Oct.20, 2013 138

Gertie (Americana)

Oct.20, 2013 100

Beatrice (Brahma)

Oct. 19, 2013 045

I had the windows open that first day (so I could hear what was going on outside), and spent a good portion of the day outside watching. I know from past experience that things can get nasty quick when adding new hens to the flock. At one point, I went in to get ready for the day, and when I came back out, Mabel was NOWHERE TO BE FOUND. I looked in the hen house, the nesting box on the porch, all around a big clump of Mondo Grass. I started praying. Could a hawk have gotten her? We really don’t have many predators around, though the bayou is close, and we did see a hawk one time. I also thought maybe she found her way underneath a gap underneath the gate, so I looked in the front yard and around the sides of the house. Then, after I double checked every place I had already looked, something told me to look INSIDE of the clump of Mondo Grass.

Oct.20, 2013 169

Oct.20, 2013 171

Oct.20, 2013 172

Oct.20, 2013 175

Beatrice found the box on the porch, and laid an egg toward the late afternoon. Gertie was in the box on the porch later, but didn’t lay an egg until the following day. Her eggs are blue! These hens will be a year old in February.

Oct.20, 2013 183

Oct. 22, 2013 005

All in all, things have gone really well! I love my new girls, and I’m hoping the other hens will welcome them to the flock soon. We’ll be taking the hens with us when we go up to the Little House in November, and the trip up there could be kind of nasty if they don’t learn to love each other soon.

dividers-1“Lord, I thank You for all the times you have hidden me from the enemy. You are a strong tower that I can run to whenever I sense the encroachment of evil into my life. Because of You I don’t have to be afraid of the enemy’s plans against me.

Today, I ask You to keep me safe and protected from all evil so that I can be free to grow in service to You and become all You created me to be.” – Stormie O’Martian (Prayers for Emotional Wholeness)

 

 

7 thoughts on “The New Girls

  1. Delightful from start to finish.
    The poop! That was kinda nasty but I appreciated the education. it’s a good thing you know what you’re doing!
    The new girls are so pretty! Oh how I enjoy all your chicken posts, Kara!
    xo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shanda 🙂 Chickens are my favorite subject. No, honestly, I don’t really know what I’m doing. 😛 I’d say I’ve made a lot of mistakes, and I learn really well from them. When I got my original flock, I didn’t de-worm at all. I read a book that led me to believe that backyard chickens most likely wouldn’t have any problems with worms or diseases. When I was thrown into the thick of it, I had to read up and learn in crisis mode. There are still issues I have with the chickens that I haven’t gotten to the bottom of. I guess lately, I’ve just been trying to get them healthier, because just like humans, a healthy immune system helps them ward off diseases and worms and things. Dealing with the effects has been stressful. I’m hoping to get them healthy and in tiptop shape to avoid that stuff in the future.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lee Ann. I debated a while before deciding to put the picture of the poop in the post. The good thing, is that they were dead! When I first started out, I didn’t de-worm the girls, and found out that they had worms because they had little live, moving rice-looking things in their poop! I was glad to see that these were dead! It was amazing that they had something that large living on the inside of them.

      Like

  2. Kara,I love your writing.we were residents of AR for 6 yr and I still miss friends inMtn.Home. I look forward to all of your posts. I teach in Pasadena! But not forever. Looking forward to the new adventure God has for us.

    Like

    1. It’s nice to meet you, Karen. I asked Bud if he knew who you were after your first comment on my blog (which I really appreciated) and he told me you were an Orchestra director. I’m so glad you enjoy reading. 🙂

      If you lived up in that area of AR, then you know how beautiful it is, and how hard it is to wait to get back up there! I would imagine it was hard for you to leave it. I just love the people up there. We have driven through Mountain Home many times, but I don’t know if we have ever stopped for any length of time.

      Hopefully your new adventure will be in a place that is equally as beautiful? Bud has met a lot of nice orchestra directors up in AR through the internet forums. I have to say (and I hope you don’t take this the wrong way) that anything would be heaven compared to Stinakdena. 😛 I lived half of my life there.

      Thanks again for your comment!

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

