Update on the Price of Mung Beans In Manchuria

Oct242103 027

Oct242103 015

Oct242103 029

Oct242103 033

We have had several beautiful days in a row. The mornings have been cool enough for a sweatshirt, the air has been dry and crisp. The days have been pleasant enough to open the windows, and still warm enough to wear shorts.

The girls are settling in, though not as quickly as my impatient self would like. There are still skirmishes during the day, and big squabbles getting settled in the hen house at night. During the day, I’ve had to put several of the hens in the run when they proactively seek out to bully the young’ns. Some of the hens who are higher in the pecking order have allowed the new hens around close. It seems to be the older hens who are at the bottom of the pecking order who have ‘issues’ with the new ones.

Oct242103 018(Mabel)

I have had to put the young’ns on the roost at night.  When dusk approaches, they know something is wrong and look very antsy about the approaching darkness. I have been herding them toward the hen house at night, but they haven’t been able to find their way up into the hen house. Once I put them inside the hen house door, I have also had to put them on the roost. They still don’t come down in the morning like the others do. This morning, I took them off the roost, and put them on the floor. I was able to coax them out of the hen house, which was a first.

They are eating well, and Gertie caught a bug on her own. I found a moth on the gate handle and gave it to Beatrice, and she gobbled it down. They have an issue with their voice, that I haven’t yet figured out the cause for. I was hoping the de-worming would take care of it. My older hens, too, have been having an issue with their voices, but that started before the new ones came, and the new ones had problems when they arrived here. I have no clue what the cause could be. They seem to be feeling great and eating well.

Oct242103 038(Beatrice and Gertie Dusting)

Mable is the only hen who will eat my sprouts. She gobbles them with gusto. These are mung bean sprouts, and maybe I’ll try sprouting a different seed next time. Speaking of sprouts, just  a quick update about my ‘new method’. I started off with WAY too many mung beans. I had to split them into two colanders, and they could still stand to be split yet again.

Oct242103 041

I don’t know that I will use this method again. It seems to have worked okay, and it has been very easy to take care of, but the sprouts seem to be anemic looking, compared to the ones that I’ve grown in a mason jar in the past.

Oct242103 044

Though I have tossed them with my hand, I think that they are not getting as much light as they do when they are in a Mason Jar. Just passing that along. It still works, though, and if it’s just for chickens, it probably doesn’t matter.

Oct242103 012(Gertie…just being cute.)

I have a another confession to make (since it’s just us chickens here). I have not been doing well with my diet lately. I try to stay away from wheat because it makes me instantly gain weight. There is a noticeable difference in my face when I eat it. It becomes puffy. If you have ever seen “Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory” with Gene Wilder, think : ‘Violet’ after she eats the Everlasting Gobbstopper. It’s not pretty.

Anyway…It seems I’ve been bombarded with pumpkin recipes on every website I visit lately, and I’ve had a craving for all things pumpkin. I saw a recipe that the Pioneer Woman posted and I lost all resolve: Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls.

I don’t like things too sweet so I opted to forgo the Cream Cheese Frosting:

Oct242103 002

This is apparently a variation on a theme of a basic recipe that her Mom made through her childhood. What I liked about this recipe is that there was no kneading involved. You stir it up in the pot, cover it and let it rise. All in all, for cinnamon rolls, this was a pretty easy recipe, and I’m going to keep it. I would probably do one of the other variations next time.

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

I think most of my readers are Christians. If you are not, it’s a part of my life that I can’t hide because it’s so important to me. Lately, I’ve been struggling. Prayer has been so important to me. Sometimes it’s the only thing that keeps me going.

This morning, I found some prayers I had written down. I have no idea where they came from, but I needed to stumble upon these at this point in my life and I wanted to share them because they are so good!

Often, I write down prayers that are meaningful to me or which pertain to something I’m going through,  because when I’m going through a rough patch, sometimes ‘auto-pilot’ is what I need to get me through it, because I just can’t clear my head and ‘think’ to come up with my own. I know that written prayers are every bit as powerful as ‘thunk up’ prayers because I’ve seen them answered…seen things change in my life as the result of just plowing through them. The Lord knows my heart, and he knows that I mean every word of them.

59198hrthuy4syh“Lord, I give up all of my own plans and purposes, all of my own desires and hopes, and accept Thy will for my life. I give myself, my life, my all – utterly- to be yours forever. Fill me, and seal me with Thy Holy Spirit. Use me as Thou wilt, send me where Thou wilt, work out thy whole will in my life at any cost, now and forever.”

59198hrthuy4syhLord Jesus, I offer you:

  • All that I am
  • All that I have
  • All that I do
  • All that I suffer

Now and forever.

59198hrthuy4syh

“Lord, Don’t let any pain be wasted. Use it to conform me to your image.

Use it to teach me how to be content.”

Oct.20, 2013 143

6 thoughts on “Update on the Price of Mung Beans In Manchuria

  1. Love those prayers! And, I so needed them today.

    It’s hard for me to do away with wheat (gluten) altogether; but, I discovered that I do okay if I minimize gluten. I had an overdose of it with pasta one night and then pizza another and whoa mama, I didn’t do so well. LOL. But, I’m okay giving several days between eating some wheat products.

    I’m glad your new girls are doing well.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lee Ann. I always appreciate your comments.

      I’m glad you shared about your gluten sensitivity and your experiences with it. I might experiment with just having it once in a while, like you are doing. Cutting out completely and forever is just too torturous.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

