Just some thoughts…

I have been feeling verbose, lately, and I have some things to share. Skip this post if you just can’t stand it. 🙂 I usually hold back because I think no one wants to read it, but lately, I just need to write, and I don’t care if anyone doesn’t like it. I’m OVER (mostly) the fear of what people think about me.

Last time I wrote on this subject, the comments sections was plastered with links spouting ‘King James Only’ articles. I understand where you are at. I’ve been there, but I have MOVED ON and embraced the freedom that Jesus died on the cross for, so that we could have freedom from religious spirits and legalism.

I use to read the King James version, and I always had a hard time understanding it. It was, of course, the version that all super spiritual people used. *my tongue is in my cheek*

Later, I moved on to the Literal Translation edited by Jay Green. It was much easier to understand, and I felt that it was fairly accurate, but I still struggled to read.

Something made me pick up the Living Bible. Yes, that evil satanically inspired transcription *heavy sarcasm*. Due to ungodly, spiritual pressure and guilt, I went back to my Literal Translation for a while, and I stopped reading totally.

With the M.S., I have some cognitive issues. I have trouble, sometimes, with my memory and comprehension.

I recently picked my Living Bible up again, and it has come alive! I’m enjoying reading it and I look forward to it. I KNOW it’s just a transcription, but it makes me excited about My Lord and Savior and what He has done. It builds my faith. I want to read it more.

You tell me…is it better to read what makes sense and encourages me? Or should I strive to read what other controlling people want me to read and just give up and not read at all? Moreover, should I even be friends with these people who are constantly judging me and controlling me, and possibly praying their will for me (about what they think my problems are, who they think I should be, or what they think I should do)?

If you have a problem with what Bible version I read, it’s YOUR PROBLEM, not mine. The Lord has all of us on a different path. He uses different things to reach different people. Sometime in the future, I might go back to KJV if the Lord so leads, and I still prefer to memorize and quote scriptures in KJV.

Let’s face it…we ALL think we are right, otherwise, we wouldn’t be going down that path. Control yourself; not me. Jesus is the one in control of my life. He is the one who knows me intimately, and knows what He is trying to accomplish in my life.

Cease and desist your control of me in the spirit realm, in Jesus’ name.

I release myself from all of the judgmental and legalistic people who would pray wrongly for me or try to control me with their opinions of what I should be doing or who I should be, IN JESUS’ NAME.

I hasten to add that the Bible says that we do not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers and rules of the darkness of this world. The battle is in the spiritual realm, not with people. I acknowledge that it is the evil spirits driving these people, and not the people, themselves.

Only God knows the path He has me on, and what is for my best for me, and how that is best accomplished. He knows my heart, and knows that I only want His Truth and HIS best in my life.

Yes, I am faulty. I stumble and fall short quite often…but that is why I need my Savior! If there is any goodness in me, it comes from HIM, not my own doing or ‘good works’.

If you think this post is about you, it’s probably not. One of the reason I deleted my last blog was because of certain ‘followers’ who I didn’t want to be judged by anymore or prayed by in a wrong, controlling manner. I just need you all to know where I am coming from, and I need to get it out here in writing for my own sake.

I have been under a spiritual attack lately, and I read something this morning that encouraged me and wanted to share it  on the chance that there might only be one person who it might encourage.

My Savior came alive to me and my faith was bolstered. I hope it does the same thing for you (if you are still reading).

If you don’t like scriptural posts, and especially those quoted from the Living Bible…BE GONE, IN JESUS’ NAME! Get thee behind me, Satan!!

Psalm 18

Lord, how I love you! For you have done such tremendous things for me.

The Lord is my fort where I can enter and be safe; no one can follow me in and slay me. He is a rugged mountain where I hide; he is my Savior, a rock where none can reach me, and a tower of safety. He is my shield. He is like the strong horn of a mighty fighting bull. All I need to do is cry to him–oh, praise the Lord–and I am saved from all my enemies!

Death bound me with chains, and the floods of ungodliness mounted a massive attack against me. Trapped and helpless, I struggled against the ropes that drew me on to death.

In my distress I screamed to the Lord for his help, and he heard me from heaven. My cry reached his ears. Then the earth rocked and reeled, and mountains shook and trembled. How they quaked! For he was angry. Fierce flames leaped from his mouth, setting fire to the earth; smoke blew from his nostrils. He bent the heavens down and came to my defense; thick darkness was beneath my feet. Mounted on the cherubim, he sped swiftly to my aid with wings of wind. He enshrouded himself with darkness, veiling his approach with dense clouds, dark as murky waters. Suddenly the brilliance of his presence broke through the clouds with lightening and a mighty storm of hail.

The Lord thundered in the heavens; the God above all gods has spoken–oh, the hailstones! oh the fire! He flashed his fearful arrows of lightening and routed all my enemies. See how they run! Then, at your command, O lord, the sea receded from the shore. At the blast of your breath the depths were laid bare.

He reached down from heaven and took me and drew me out of my great trials. He rescued me from deep waters. He delivered me from my strong enemy, from those who hated me–I who was helpless in their hands.

On the day when I was weakest, they attacked, but the Lord held me steady. He led me to a place of safety, for he delights in me. The Lord rewarded me for doing right and being pure. For I have followed his commands; have not sinned by turning back from following him. I kept close watch on all his laws. I did not refuse a single one. I did my best to keep them all, holding myself back from doing wrong. And so the Lord has paid me with his blessings, for I have done what is right, and I am pure of heart. This he knows, for he watches my every step.

Lord, how merciful you are to those who are merciful. And you do not punish those who run from evil. You give blessings to the pure, but pain to those who leave your paths. You deliver the humble, but condemn the proud and haughty ones. You have turned on my light! The Lord my god has made my darkness turn to light. Now, in your strength, I can scale any wall, and attack any troop.

What a God he is! How perfect in every way! All his promises prove true. He is a shield for everyone who hides behind him. For who is God except our Lord? Who but He is as a rock?

He fills me with strength and protects me where ever I go. He gives me the sure-footedness of a mountain goat upon the crags. He leads me safely along the top of the cliffs . He prepares me for battle and gives me strength to draw an iron bow!  You have given me your salvation as my shield. Your right hand, O Lord, supports me; your gentleness has made me great. You have made wide steps beneath my feet so that I never never slip. I chased my enemies; I caught up with them and did not turn back until all were conquered. I pinned them to the ground; all were helpless before me. I placed my feet upon their necks. For you have armed me with strong armor for the battle. My enemies quail before me and fall defeated at my feet.

You made them turn and run; I destroyed all who hated me. They shouted for help but no one dared to rescue them; they cried to the Lord, but he refused to answer them.

So I crushed them fine as dust and cast them to the wind. I threw them away like sweepings from the floor. You gave me victory in every battle. The nations came and served me. Even those I didn’t know before come now and bow before me. Foreigners who have never seen me submit instantly. They come trembling from their stongholds.

God is alive! Praise him who is the great rock of protection. He is the God who pays back those who harm me and subdues the nations before me.

He rescues me from my enemies; he holds me safely out of their reach and saves me from these powerful opponents. For this, O Lord, I will praise you among the  nations. Many times you have miraculously rescued me, the king you appointed. You have been loving and kind to me and will be to my descendants.

dividers-1

God never gives us discernment in order that we may criticize or judge, but that we may intercede. ~ Oswald Chambers

 

10 thoughts on “Just some thoughts…

  1. We each have and I have given away copies of the New Living Translation. It does help with the understanding alot. Many verses in the King James have me buffalowed (is that a word?). I say read what you want to read. It is between you and the Almighty, anyway.

    Like

  2. The thing about the “KJV” only people is that they are STILL reading a translation; why not just insist that all Christians learn Hebrew and Greek? Anyway, you are right when you say it is the spirit of the matter, what a devious thing to insist that a person stick w/KJV. We used NIV in the church I attended as a child. Now, our current pastor uses several different Bibles and often will share the same verses from the pulpit in SEVERAL different translations!

    Like

  3. I only read out of the New Living Translation now because it’s much easier to read and understand. Everyone can read the translation that they love, it’s all the Bible.

    Like

    1. I’ve never head of the New Living Translation. I’ll have to check it out.

      I like the Bible Hub site, because you can see a whole page of different translations in one glance.

      Like

  4. I was looking around your site and saw this, and I want to thank you for sharing it, Kara. It was good to get to know you even more. I’ll start by saying that I am not a ‘KJV only’ reader, but I do have a People’s Parallel Edition of the KJV and the Living Bible combined. I also have a separate copy of the New Living Translation, and I have noticed differences between that and the Living Bible, and I do prefer the Living Bible, myself. I went in search of the parallel version, as it was my first Bible back in 1981, and is now a very dog-eared version I might add! It’s been out of print, but I found one just like it on Amazon, minus the dog ears. It was used, but in good condition, only it was selling for over $100! *Sigh … I figure I’ll just keep taping the lose pages back in and reading my dear, old, familiar friend. As for those judgmental and legalistic souls … the enemy wants nothing more than to divide the body of Christ, especially over His written Word, and you are right, it’s their problem, not yours!

    Lately I’ve been reading one of those ‘read though the Bible in one year’ versions … I have such a desire first thing in the morning to get up and read, and have not been able to put it down! I’m already halfway into April. It’s the New American Standard translation, and although it’s not quite as easy as the Living Bible, still, it’s easy to understand … it’s the Life Principals Daily Bible by Charles Stanley with lots of his notes in it that are very encouraging. Lately, it seems the Word is coming alive more and more to me as never before. I’ve heard that from others, as well. I have a number of other translations, but, like you, I do like how the Living Bible makes things so clear. So glad you shared the Living Bible version of Psalm 18 … “You gave me victory in every battle” particularly encourages me now. Bless you, and keep reading, Kara … His written Word is so filled with treasure … there’s more strength, more hope, more joy, and more life in those words than we will ever know!

    Like

    1. Thank you for this encouraging post. I’m so glad you are at a point that you cannot put the Word down. I love it when I have those times. Lately, I’ve been in a slump…I guess the ‘cares of the world’ are choking things up. I love those times where I can’t put it down like that. I also admire that you’ve been able to stick with the ‘through the Bible in a year!’ I usually get behind on those things and give up. LOVE Charles Stanley, and it’s good to know his Bible is a good one. He’s so down to earth, and always hits on the heart of the matters we all deal with. In looking into his background, it seems that he has lived through it, and that always helps a person to help others.

      I’m shocked that 1) The Living Bible is out of print and 2) They are selling used for that much! Surely someone has one that they are no longer using and would love to give away. Maybe you could ask on Freecycle or Craigslist. You never know what you might find!

      Thank you again for your post!

      Love and Hugs! -Kara

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

