Happy New Year! A Year for Changes…

…and goals (*grumble-grumble*)!

(This one is all about ME, <and it has a lot of word-thingees and no pictures> so please feel free to skip it if you want to, okay? No hard feelin’s. I just needed to put it all down on paper for posterity’s sake, and also so I can come back here on December 31, 2014 and see how lousy I did at achieving my goals.)

I’ve never been good at setting and keeping goals. I guess I’m just a derelict, nothin’, nobody, ne’er-do-well. (…but at least I ‘play well with others’…or at least I think I do).

Let me be clear that this is not the kind of ‘hope and change’ you’ve been hearing so much about the last five years or so. This is up-close-and-personal change…inย  my life and with Bud. There will be someย  inevitable change, (like moving from one state to another), but the kind of change I’m thinking about right now is purposeful change in the way of personal goals I will be setting for myself.

I try to make goals in lieu of making ‘resolutions’. I’ve read some things about it, and the consensus seems to be that all-or-nothing ‘resolutions’ set you up for failure (because it is a rare person that can stop eating cake forever without even a crumb! or a bite, even! I mean, the only thing you can think about is eating cake when you decide not to eat it anymore). Therefore, it’s better to make more lenient goals to strive for, rather than black and white resolutions that if you slip even once, you have to kill yourself for being imperfect, and then go gorge on cake because you failed.

Monday, January 6, is the start of my New Year and all things new, bright and beautiful. We were gone on January 1st, and it’s always easier for me to start things on a Monday. Believe me, I’ve been throwing caution into the wind in anticipation of it (as well as eating a lot of donuts, which won’t be part of my new year).

It helps for me to write it all down, and to share it…that way if you see me blogging about eating a donut or baking bread, you can say, “I thought you were eating healthier for the New Year.”

My New Year’s Goals

1. Clean up My Diet and Eat Healthier (Wow. That’s really open for interpretation and hard to pin down, right?). I have what I believe to be several auto-immune issues. There is the M.S., but I have also been having some severe skin issues, which I think is Eczema. It flares up, and then backs off for a while, especially when I cut out wheat, and I suspect it to be a trigger. I’ve read a lot of information which says that eczema is tied to wheat/gluten consumption. Most of the information says that doctors don’t know what causes it. Other information says it is an auto-immune problem (i.e. your body attacking itself). This problem has been severe enough that I am willing to even cut out my beloved coffee (which is known to be a cross-reactor which has the same effects as gluten.)

I’m doing an elimination diet starting Monday, January 6, 2014. I’m cutting out a lot of things (sugar, grains, legumes, dairy, eggs, nuts, seeds, COFFEE (*crying*), nightshades (tomatoes, peppers, etc.). The diet is an auto-immune form of Paleo. I’m going to do it for at least a month, maybe longer, if certain issues don’t clear up. Gradually you add foods in to see if you get a reaction to it. Click here for the low-down, dirty details if you are interested. If you don’t like that link,you can click on this one for or for an extra added double bonus boost of information on this topic.

I’m also going to eat more nutrient dense foods with probiotics like homemade sauerkraut, fermented cod liver oil, eating organ meats, eating more leafy greens and a wide range of colorful veggies, and continuing with my vitamin supplements.

2. Improve my photography skills. I love looking at good photography. It moves me. I want to have better photos for my blog, too. Unfortunately, I never know what I’m going to get, because I take photos without purpose. Sometimes I get some good ones because I take a LOT of photos with my digital camera. I also have many, many flops.

I am going to try to do the ever-popular ‘picture a day’ and post it here on my blog. Practice makes perfect (or so they say). It will not always be my best photo that I post. Sometimes it will just be something from my day I want to document by way of a photo. It might even be taken with my I-phone. If I miss a day, I’m going to give myself permission to either skip that day and get back on the bandwagon, or post it after-the-fact. The important thing is not allowing myself to give up, even if I crash and burn to once a week. I also might use some photo prompt ideas I found online.

I will post my first ‘picture of the day’ (which I will take today) tomorrow. At this point, I must quote:

“Well, what if there is no tomorrow? There wasn’t one today?”

(Phil Connors – in the movie, “Ground Hog Day”)

3. De-clutter and start packing up my house! Hain’t no way around it. It’s gotta be done before we move in June! I would just rather do it a little at a time, rather than to desperately cram it all in a box two weeks before we have to go, and pack a lot of things we won’t be able to get rid of once we are up there. You can’t put blood into a turnip or stuff peanut butter into a cabbage, and there is absolutely no way that much of the stuff we have accumulated over 20 years is going to fit into our Little House in the Ozarks.

4. Finish my novel. I reached the goal of 50,000 words to ‘win’ NaNoWriMo well before the end of November, because I knew we would be leaving during the week of Thanksgiving (the last week). I wanted to be finished the 50,000 words before then. My novel is still not even close to being complete at a little over 50,000 words. I want to finish it so that I can say that I did.

That’s about it! Stay tuned to see if I make it…especially with the Photo-A-Day, LOL. I’m laughing, but I really shouldn’t be. I am just not a very good goal-setter. Those natural-born goal setters laugh in the face of goal floppers like me, but that last laugh will be upon thee. (I don’t know what that means, but it just came to me and sounded pretty good so I left it there.)

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year! A Year for Changes…

  1. i was doing photo a day for awhile there until I became so sick last August. I haven’t done much since then; but, I am gradually getting back into the mood of doing things including photography..

    I got an canker after Christmas. I hadn’t had one of those in eons! I went to a medical site and looked it up. I read of possible triggers to Dan and he immediately repeated one of them — Nuts. We had been given gifts of cashews and I had opened up a can and ate a bunch within a matter of two days. I couldn’t believe it. Cashews? It’s one of my favorites (and most of my family loves cashews too)! I hadn’t eaten any in a long long time though and well, it appears that I may be sensitive to nuts. :-O Dang! LOL. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I am going to try eliminating one of two ingredients the next time I make mini meatloaves -ketchup or oats. Something causes my stomach to do that burning thang that landed me in the ER years ago and I am now taking Prevacid because they couldn’t find exact cause. Just taking care of the symptoms. I haven’t had it for a long time now; but, I did last night and I knew it was something in the mini-meatloaves. My suspicions is on the ketchup or oats because I can have all other ingredients without any trouble. *sigh*

    I wish you success in your new year’s goals! I’m cheering for you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear about the cashews! That’s sort of the way I felt when I started to make the connection between the wheat and some of my problems. It’s the staff of life! How could I have problems with THAT? I’m also suspecting nuts. I use to eat them for lunch…did that for about a year. It was all I needed to get me through to supper. My younger sister and I have made the connection between peanut butter and zits! We both break out (as adults) with zits when we eat peanut butter.

      I’m glad that you are finding your triggers and have been feeling better. It’s awful when you don’t feel like doing the things you always use to enjoy because you feel bad. Been there. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Tomatoes are a nightshade, which I’m finding out that people have problems with, so maybe it’s the ketchup in your meatloaves? Or it could be the oats because it’s a grain. Regardless, I hope you get to the bottom of it soon.

      Thanks for the vote of confidence toward me achieving my goals. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

