Burning Leaves

Oh…um…sorry. I thought the song was ‘Burning Leaves.’ image-of-embarrassed …but Nat King Cole is never a mistake.

Christmas Holidays 383

I mentioned once before that in all of the places I’ve lived before, leaves have never been a problem. When leaves did fall, we just left them there, or mowed over them. No problem.

Out here, it’s a BIG problem. You can’t even see the ground for all of the leaves. I guess you could just leave them there to decompose, but it is an ideal place for snakes to hang out…have a PARTY, in fact.

Last time, Bud burned the leaves. I only got to touch the rake with leaves to the fire, and set another pile on fire. I pretty much just enjoyed it vicariously.  This time, I saw that Bud had raked the leaves away from the house in a nice, neat long row to get it away from the house. He was busy doing other things, so I took the firestarter, clicked the button, touched it to the leaves, and……

Christmas Holidays 376

Christmas Holidays 371

Christmas Holidays 374

It was like one continuous self burning pile o’ leaves. My eyes glazed over and I entered an altered state of consciousness. I felt the laughter ebb from the deepest pit of my belly until it spilled over into maniacal cackling!

Christmas Holidays 373

Did it look at you? Did the fire look at you? It did. Whoa. Wow. Our worlds aren’t that far apart after all, are they? So, whoever is doing this knows the animal well, doesn’t he? He knows him real well, but he won’t let him loose. He won’t let him have any fun, so he does not love him. Now who doesn’t love fire? And is around trychtichlorate all day long?” – Donald Sutherland as Ronald in ‘Backdraft’.

Yes, Ronald. YES! The fire DID look at me!!!!

Heeheheehooohooohahaehehehehe!!!!!

I enjoyed it so much, that I did it again the next day, (hehe) only this time, I had to work for it. I had to rake the leaves all by myself. I raked the whole front yard, and then up the old logging road.

Christmas Holidays 378

It was quite a challenge, but I wanted it…BAD. Real bad. I single handedly fought off ravaging chickens who took to those leaves like it was crack. They NEEDED to SCRATCH!!! …and they wanted those piles.

Christmas Holidays 399

Christmas Holidays 386

Beatrice and Eula, in particular, hung around the whole entire time I was burning the leaves. Even when the smoke was so thick I could hardly breathe, they hung in there. I was afraid we were going to have ‘smoked chicken’ for supper.

Bud tried not to be worried, but I saw him glancing my way a lot. Finally, he came out my way with a tool in his hand. I’m not sure what he intended to do with that tool, but I’m pretty sure he was afraid I was out of control.

Christmas Holidays 391

Christmas Holidays 392

Christmas Holidays 393

Christmas Holidays 394

There was smoke all over the place. I was afraid I was going to die of smoke inhalation. It seemed that there were an awful lot of neighbors driving slowly by the house that day. I guess they were afraid that the ‘city-folk’ had done burned the place down!

Bud eventually came out and helped me. I had gotten adventurous and started the long row in several places because I was impatient to watch the pile slowly burn from one end to the other. Okay, okay. In truth, I thought it would be more exciting, too, to have the long row of the pile ablaze in several places…multiple places…so Bud came out to help. I think I skeerd ‘im.

I made grilled chicken salad for supper (store bought chicken.) My chickens, miraculously, made it out unscathed.  As I sat down to dinner, soot covering my face, and my hair singed, I couldn’t remember when I’d had so much fun! This one, is going to be MY chore.

When I took my bath that night, I could have sworn I heard the bath water sizzling.

Christmas Holidays 372

8 thoughts on “Burning Leaves

  1. I smiled the whole time reading this post! You sound so much like me. I would have similar fantastic time buring brush and leaves. But, we have to have a burn pit first before we can burn anything. At least, that is my requirement. We will be building one and it’s going to be HUGE! 🙂 And, FUN!

    Like

  2. What fun. You are not one of those people who like to start fires, are you? Smile Can’t think what they are called, but I know how they like fires. Interesting story.

    Like

  3. LOL! Loved hearing about the antics out there in the boon docks! Glad Bud was keeping an “eye” on you! Sounds like you were having a little TOO much fun w/ such a volatile thing!

    Like

  4. I loved this post! Brilliantly written, Kara, I laughed out loud at the “I entered a state of altered state of consciousness” and the quote.
    Guess what? I’m sitting in front of a cozy, crackling fire as I type!
    PS, I listened to the song as I read your post. Very nice. xo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shanda. Awwww….I can imagine you sitting by the beautiful fireplace a’ cracklin’ all cozy with your laptop. I’ll bet you had on fuzzy socks, too. 😛

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

