Revenge of the Propane People

Christmas Holidays 400January 2, 2014

I woke up at 2:30 a.m. I tossed and turned, went to the bathroom a lot and spent some time thinking (which I seem to do very well at 2:30 a.m.) It took me a long time to get back to sleep. I knew that the Propane People were coming to move the tank at 7:30 a.m., and I had set my alarm for 5:30 in order to give us plenty of time to have coffee and get dressed before the workers arrived. There was nothing to worry about. I was actually excited that the Propane tank was being moved. If I am honest, I’ll admit that there was a nagging feeling in the recesses of my psyche over the money we would be spending to have the tank moved, but as I said, it was worth it to us to get that eyesore out of the way. My psyche would have been shot to bits if I’d had to stare at that tank every day for the rest of my living days.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, click on this link to refresh your memory: The Rise of the Behemoth

The Propane guy arrived without a hitch, pretty much right on the dot. He was working quickly! They had given us a rough estimate on how much it would cost us to have the tank moved, based on how many hours they estimated it would take. The Propane guy was using the trencher to dig a trench for the copper tubing which would run from the current place the propane tank sat to the back of the house where we wanted it moved. We were amazed at how fast it was all going, and were pleased that it might not cost as much as the estimate.

After the trench was dug, the guy hoisted the propane tank onto his truck. Everything was going swimmingly, until he started to back up. We heard the sound of slipping tires, and looked out the window. Propane guy was STUCK in the mud!

Christmas Holidays 401

Bud went out to talk to the guy, who was on his cell phone. The guy told Bud that this was not an uncommon thing to have happen. He assured Bud that it wasn’t the weight of the tank, but the truck itself. Not an uncommon thing to have happen. *Hmmmmm* Okay, yes. I’m a suspicious person by nature, and to be sure, my suspicion meter was tingling.

He shouldn’t have had to get that close to the stream to back around the house, and you would think that if getting stuck in the mud was not uncommon, that he would have checked the area before he started to back up.

The guy was going to have to wait for another truck to come tow him out. In the meantime, he took a hoe and covered the trench. Okay, fine…but he was making a work of art of it, trying to find something to make him ‘look busy’ while he was waiting. Real working is one thing, but pretending you are working is another. At this point, I started to really get suspicious, and a little upset.

Christmas Holidays 402

After about 40 minutes, his back up arrived. He was towed out without much of a problem.

Christmas Holidays 415

So then, the guy backs up and gets stuck AGAIN! (*Thank goodness the other dude hadn’t left yet and was there to watch it happen…again.*)

You might think I’m getting all upset for nothing, but they were laughing and smirking with each other the whole time. They were taking their sweet time about it all. The guy who got stuck was polite, but it was an ‘Eddie Haskel’ type polite.

Christmas Holidays 417

After the truck was towed out a second time, the guy had to drive up the hill (was gone for about 5 minutes) to get the mud off of his tires, and then he put chains on his tires. Once he was out, he took everything out of a little compartment on the side of the truck, re-wrapping wires, and taking his sweet time to get everything in there in a way that even FlyLady would have been proud of.

When he was all done, he came in the house to settle the bill. The bill was about as much as the estimate. The guy asked Bud if that was okay, and Bud said, “No. You charged us for the time you got stuck!” The guy said that they charge from the time they get there, to the time they leave. Being the non-confrontation person that Bud is, he let it go…but we were both PO’d after he left. I had all of the same yucky feelings I had when we felt like we had been ‘taken’ by the plumber.

I fixed potato and egg breakfast tacos for breakfast after the Propane guys left. Hain’t nothin’ like a little comfort food to soak up all of that bile!

Christmas Holidays 418

If you think I am an ugly person, well maybe I am. Bud and I talked about it, and prayed about it. When I felt like Bud was tired of listening to me talk about it, I drove up the gravel road to R’s place. I just wanted to unload on someone new. R, like Bud, is a tower of stability and prudence. I guess it was a good thing she wasn’t home, because what I really needed to do was take it the Lord instead of other people, which I eventually did. As you can tell, I guess I still haven’t completely gotten over it…but I’m working on it.

Later, Bud and I went out to try to mash down the ruts with our feet, (wearing our snake boots) so it wouldn’t stay that permanently. The chickens enjoyed checking out the ruts for worms.

Christmas Holidays 427

Christmas Holidays 423

Christmas Holidays 425

Christmas Holidays 430

And so, the Behemoth now quietly rests behind the house in the shadows.

Christmas Holidays 431

8 thoughts on “Revenge of the Propane People

  1. I would absolutely feel the same way!! Totally unfair that they charged you for their adventures in the mud! However, it was a great idea to move the tank and it must feel good to have it tucked away in the shadows.
    Your potatoes look delicious, I imagine you have quite a collection of egg dishes to use!
    I think we all have some ugly within us. I like you the way you are!
    xo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shanda. Your ugly is not so bad, though. Come to think of it, I don’t even know your uglies so they must not be bad at all!

      Yes, it does feel very good to finally have it out of the way. There is not even a window back where it has been moved! My heart was touching my belly button when I first saw it out of our front window.

      Like

    1. I didn’t mean to sound ungrateful. I’m extremely happy over it. Just regretting the money we had to spend to do it…but you are right. That’s what I should be concentrating on.

      Like

  2. I can relate to your feelings about the possibility of “being taken”. Been there done that, so to speak. Thankfully, it is moved and when you go back up you can enjoy the view, once more. PTL

    Like

    1. It feels awful. 😦 You are right, and I’m hoping the experience will be a distant memory by the time we go back up there. I really am very happy that it has been moved!

      Like

  3. There are lots of glitches when going through a remodel and many things will not turn out as perfect as you wish…some imperfections we just have to live with. If they have done you wrong, “vengeance is mine says The Lord”. He will take care of it and will deal with those guys and you don’t have to even worry about it.

    Like

    1. I know you’ve been through it, so I appreciate your advice. I’m trying to leave it with the Lord and let him take vengeance (as you say) but it’s really hard, and I take it back up sometimes.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

