6 thoughts on “Picture(s) of the Day – February 6, 2014

  1. Pretty and warm scene. It’s COLD here. Actually, it’s FREEZING here. Freezing drizzle and Freezing Fog. Fun. NOT! I took a picture of an icicle around 11:00am this morning. I went back outside a little while ago and there is now three icicles in the same spot! You know stalactite and stalagmites in limestone caves right? Well, I have an icicle on roof and directly below it is a stalagmite like formation only it is ice. Seriously! Ha!

    All three cats wanted out. So, I took them out one at a time. Chessie was content to be held and did not want down or to go back indoors. Her long hair protects her. Abby wanted down (she hates to be held). I didn’t bother putting on a harness on her because I did not think she would want to stay out long. I was right. She was back in the house within two minutes! LOL. Gracie was the last and she started to shiver in my arms within a minute; so, I made her go back inside.

    Where is this global warming stuff? Huh? I want to know? This has been the coldest winter ever for us in ages!

    Like

    1. I had no idea all of that was going on today out your way. It has been in the mid to high 30’s today, but no freeze. We had what they call ‘Graupel’ yesterday, though. (I learned a new word…you’ll have to Google it.) 😉

      Crazy cats. 😛 They never know what they want. That’s why they need us Mamas to tell them what they want.

      Hope you are staying warm!

      Like

  2. The pic looks so inviting. I have been meaning to order some herbs and powders from Mountain Rose Herbs and have put it off for several weeks. My order wold be over $100.00, is the reason for delaying my order. I think I have some turmeric in my spices that would probably work. It is out of date and I have not found any more of it at the stores where I buy groceries. I need to look up the th things she wrote about. Isn’t that a thyroid issue?

    I like the pictures you send out, so don’t cut those out if possible.

    Gotta go for now. A friend lost her grandson to that deadly flu a few weeks ago and I just found out recently, so need to call her.

    Love you

    Like

    1. I think she has Hashimoto’s and that is a thyroid issue, but the diet is good for any auto immune issues– MS, Lupus, Rheumatoid Arthritis, Celiac Disease, to name a few. There are some who say Eczema is an auto-immune disease, and I think that’s what I’m having problems with (in addition to the M.S.)

      This tea was surprisingly good. I would drink it even if it wasn’t healthy or good for inflammation.The turmeric is particularly good for inflammation.

      I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s grandson.

      Love you too!

      Like

  3. I really enjoy your photos and posts, Kara! So sorry I haven’t been by sooner … finally starting to feel ‘normal’ again, and so I thought a bit of catching up was due! Love this photo, and that cup is beautiful! I drink turmeric tea often, but I’ve not tried this particular recipe. It sounds really good! I just ordered a pound of turmeric from Frontier through the health food store a few days ago … it has so many health benefits! As for your other posts from your progress, to puzzles, to your pretty cat, to those perfect pancakes, to your pictures of the day … I’ve really enjoyed them all! I love that you’re keeping the natural walls, crooked and all, in your little house. It all reminds me of when hubby and I first got married … we remodeled a little addition on a friend’s house to stay in for about six months … it was rough, but we didn’t mind one bit! You are doing a wonderful job on yours, and I’m looking forward to seeing the finished product!

    We’re ‘puzzle’ people, too, although it’s been awhile since we’ve put one together. I see you have a cat, too … such a pretty silhouette! We have two sweet cats that are great company, and they sure do keep us entertained!

    As for the feedback you asked for about your ‘picture of the day’ … I’ve always wanted to try to do that, but I don’t get online every day, still, I sure would miss seeing your photos when I do drop in. I know it’s hard posting every day, at least it is for me, but no matter what you decide, I’ll look forward to that! Nothing like fresh herbs, either … all the comments about flowers on that post made me long for the warm days of spring! We can’t even begin to think of growing anything in this ice cold weather!

    Well, you enjoy your weekend, Kara. We’re getting more snow tomorrow, and the colder temps are hanging on through next week. We actually saw a robin last Sunday … we’re hoping she didn’t just get confused, and that it’s a sure sign spring is soon coming! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your sweet comments, Debi. I really appreciate them. I especially appreciate your encouragement with the ‘photo of the day’. I think my biggest obstacles with it has been getting my camera out every day with the purpose to take a picture, and coming up with something interesting to take a picture of! My biggest worry was that email subscribers might be getting weary of having so many notices in their inbox, and also, that my ‘real’ posts were buried under pictures. However… I guess if I wasn’t posting pictures, there wouldn’t be that many posts since we are not up at our place full time, yet. Soon….soon….I’m counting down the days.

      It seems like we have a lot in common! I don’t remember if I saw where you are located. Some people want to keep their location private, and I totally get it. It sounds like you are in cold country, and I hope you are staying warm! Hopefully your Robin will return!

      This winter has been different for us. Usually, we are cold for a few days, then the front backs up and we can be wearing shorts or short sleeves the next day. Yesterday it was in the mid-30’s. Today, the high is supposed to be in the 60’s. This winter, the cold has stayed around longer than is normal before retreating. We also rarely reach freezing temps, but we’ve had quite a few short-lived freezes this winter. I usually never wear my winter coat here all winter.

      Thanks again for you thoughtful comments.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

