Daffodils

Spring Break - 1 339I wandered lonely as a cloud

That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

When all at once I saw a crowd,

A host of golden daffodils;

Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

Fluttering and Dancing in the breeze.

~from “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud’:– William Wordsworth


One of the first things we noticed when we arrived were the Daffodils dotting our landscape.

‘Daffodil’ is the flower’s common name. It comes from the genus ‘Narcissus’.  It is a perennial bulb and is in the Amaryllis family. It blooms in the Spring. Bud pointed out that they multiply each year.

Spring Break - 1 245

They apparently grow wild there, but there was evidence that the old owners had purposely re-planted some of them. In places, it almost looked like they had been planted as a border to a garden. What do you think?

spring break2 089

I have never seen Daffodils growing wild before, so it was quite a treat to have them growing freely in many places on our property.

spring break2 598 I learned that Daffodils are actually toxic. The poisons are mostly in the bulb, but also in the leaves. ‘Daffodil Itch’  is the most common dermatitis problem for florists. Thankfully, chickens seem to have an innate sense of what plants or foods are toxic to them.

According to Wikepidia, The Narcissus root is used in traditional Japanese medicine to treat wounds. In Wales, Daffodils are grown commercially to be used to produce ‘galantamine’, a drug used in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease.

Spring Break - 1 249

…For oft, when on my couch I lie

In vacant or pensive mood,

They flash upon that inward eye

Which is the bliss of solitude;

And then my heart with pleasure fills,

And dances with the daffodils.

~from “I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud’:– William Wordsworth

 

 

2 thoughts on “Daffodils

  1. I have daffodils planted in my garden. They are one of the first signs that spring is here. Always a welcomed flower to see, one of the first flowers that blossom here with the tulips and crocuses.

    Like

    1. Daffodils are not a big flower in Texas so I had not seen one up close before…only in photos. Tulips are another flower I don’t see much. I’ll bet those flowers really ARE a welcome sign, seeing how harsh your winters are there. Don’t bulbs have to freeze in order to bloom? I guess that’s why we don’t see them much in Texas. That’s one of the perks of living where you do. I’ll bet spring up there is brilliant.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

