The Log Cabin

spring break2 245

I have more pictures of our last trip, and have been meaning to make more blog posts…I just haven’t been able to get them organized in my head, and I’ve also been very stressed out with getting ready to move and put our house on the market.

Someone asked if we could store some things in the little log cabin, so I thought I would take some time today to do a brief post on it.

My recollection of the conversation with the Seller, is that the log cabin was a project that he and his Dad worked on together. The intention was to learn how to make a log cabin. That is all I know.

It’s not ‘air-tight’. There are gaping holes in between the logs, some of which have been covered with planks, and where the roof joins the top log, there is also space. The point I am trying to make is that any small creature could get in there easily. The inside is exposed to the humidity, moisture and temperature changes. It WILL keep rain off of anything we put in there, though, and we do intend to store some things in it.

Spring Break - 1 160

Spring Break - 1 162

It’s a very neat log cabin, and has a really cool homemade door. We will be able to store some things in it…just not anything that needs to be secure and weather-tight.  There is a work table that runs the length of it on one side, to my recollection.

The cabin is not very tall. I doubt that Bud could stand upright in it. When we first looked at the place, we wondered if this was the original home, and if the owners were midgets! There was good reason to think so. In the house, I have to bend down to look out the original kitchen window, and also, to use the original kitchen sink. I’m an ambitious 5’2″. It’s my understanding that the Seller’s mother was short, but not a midget. 😉

spring break2 428

There is a lot of stuff in it right now, so it will need to be gone through and things removed before it can be used. Unfortunately, some of the stuff in there that was worth keeping (some antiques, and old ‘rustic’ things) were stolen between our Thanksgiving and Christmas visit. I had been looking forward to using some of these things to decorate the inside of the house…some of it would have been perfect for the look we are trying to achieve. We certainly didn’t think anyone would go through an old cabin looking for antiques, and it was not chained or anything. Whoever took them, knew what they were worth. It wasn’t some uneducated Hillbilly looking for something to sell. I am trying not to speculate who might have done it, but it’s difficult not to. Again, it’s one of those things I need to release and give to the Lord…because there is nothing I can do about it, and it just eats away at me inside if I dwell on it. Needless to say, it left us feeling insecure and violated.

My first instinct was that we needed to put a fence along the road so that people will not think they can just walk onto our property anytime they want to. Bud, ever the ‘sage’, pointed out that by putting a fence up, it would also be an unconscious barrier which would prevent the nice people who have embraced us from feeling the openeness to stop by anytime they want to.

I have pointed out, that the warmth with which we have been received there, and the friendliness of the people who have ‘just stopped by’ to meet us, has been one of the most unlooked for and unexpected things, and one of the best things (in my opinion) about the place. I certainly wouldn’t want the good people to feel as though we were shutting them out, or that they can’t stop by anytime they want to.

Life Lessons I’m Still Trying To Learn:

1) Don’t let your heart by hardened by bad experiences and hurts, and don’t put up fences to prevent it from happening again, because it might cause you to miss or be closed to many blessings and good things in the future.

2)Don’t burn any bridges by acting hastily and impulsively.

3) Hurtful words can’t be undone. The hurt remains for a long time afterwards, even if you are sorry.

I’m still working on ALL of the above. I haven’t arrived yet.

I am sorry to those of you who read my post yesterday before I deleted it. I let my stress get the best of me. I know my apology doesn’t remove what I said, or the hurt I caused, but I feel an apology is in order and I’m very sorry for my hurtful words.

spring break2 363

4 thoughts on “The Log Cabin

  1. I see what you mean about the building being so open. You would have to do alot of remodeling in order to use it. What about just purchasing a storage building that could be used eventually for other things? Tom built one here but never did the finish work on the exterior. It is full of yard stuff and junk. He wishes he had bought one and had it brought in, I think. Oh well, if we end up moving we will go that route on the next property.

    that log building is pretty neat. I hope you are able to use it eventually.

    Gotta go for now.

    Like

    1. I would imagine that Bud would probably want to build his own. Don’t know what they would charge to haul one of those buildings way out to the ‘sticks’, and I think it can be built for much cheaper. I think if we can just clear out what is ‘trash’ in the log cabin, there are definitely things we could store in there.

      There is so much to do! I’m trying not to worry about it, but it’s difficult. I’m sure it will all work out. Once we are finally up there for good, we’ll have all the time in the world.

      Like

  2. Again, love the photograghs! These should be framed and go up on your cabin walls for the winter. I’m so sorry your property was violated. Obviously someone knew those valuables were in there. Hopefully the lock on the house door is changed since you moved in. You are right to let the hurts go, and it’s hard to do that. Just pray blessings on the them instead.

    Like

    1. Well, it was strange, to say the least, that those things were taken. Not the normal kind of things that someone would steal. I’ll leave it at that, and try to do as you said…pray blessings on them when I think about it.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

