So they loaded up the truck and they moved to Beverleeeeee….

Trailer

Well, not Beverly Hills, but deep into them Ozark Hills.

We had originally intended to leave early Friday morning. We were BOTH eager to hit the road and get on with our new life. When Bud got home from graduation at 9:30 p.m., I knew – 1) He was about to drop. 2) There was no way we could possibly finish culling, packing and loading, and still leave early in the morning. We ended up leaving a bunch of stuff behind. I had asked our Realtor to contact the Buyers to see if they wanted a few things we needed to get rid of, and they said to leave whatever we wanted and they would go through it and dispose of what they did not want.

As it turns out, it was a good decision to wait. We worked all day Saturday, and well into the evening. We didn’t get into bed until 12:30 a.m. I had planned to set my alarm for 2:00 a.m. Bud got about an hour of sleep, I got none. I was wired…couldn’t fall asleep. I finally got up and got dressed. It takes a while to load the chickens, one by one, into the cages.

The flat bed was packed and heavy. Both cars were packed. We put as much as we possibly could in there, and still there were things that we had to leave behind. I guess it was about 3:30 a.m. before we finally hit the road. Bud pulled out and I followed. We hadn’t gone very far and Bud had to stop to adjust the tarp on the back. The tarp and straps were the only thing holding our belongings in the flatbed. He had to stop several times after that, one time, completely retying it.

We passed two wrecks while it was still dark. Both of these wrecks had just happened. No emergency personnel were there yet. One truck was completely flipped over. At one wreck, there was a guy standing in the middle of the highway waving a flashlight to warn people of the wreck ahead. That was so dangerous. I said a prayer for him, and all involved in the wrecks. I also thanked the Lord for keeping us alive and out of those wrecks. I couldn’t help but think that all of the stops we made to adjust or retie the tarp were to prevent us from being involved in one of those wrecks. Thank you, to those of you who were praying for us. I believe it was prayer that kept us safe.

It took us 13 ½ hours to get to our place. Normally, it only takes about 10 1/2 Hours. I was never so glad to turn onto the gravel road which is the final leg of our journey, knowing this was the final time we would have to make that long trip.

The chickens and Grace did GREAT, in fact, it was probably the easiest ride I’ve had with the animals. They rode with me. I gave the chickens lettuce, scratch and carrots, and that seemed to keep them busy. I tried to let Grace out for water, food and potty break, but all she was interested in was investigating the car. I put a handful at a time of cat chow in her carrier, and she ate some. Needless to say, by the time we pulled into the drive, all the animals were ready to pile out of the ark.

As we pulled into our drive, we got out of the car, our buns sore, and legs rebelling. We heard the crunch of gravel under car tires, and who should be driving by but our dear friend, the Soap Lady! I hobbled over to her car and gave her a big hug as she got out. She had been to Harrison for groceries and decided to come home that way so she could pass our place to see if we were here yet. We didn’t talk long. I had to get the chickens and cat out of their cages and get them food and water. It was so good to see her, though. I regretted we couldn’t visit. She had cold stuff that she needed to get home, so she promised to come visit when she could stay for a while.

**************************************************************************************************************

I have been working on this post off and on since before we got the Internet. So much has happened in the short time we’ve been here…I don’t know whether to tell all of that, or just jump in where we are at. I know some of you have seen some of my pictures through email, others by Facebook, others haven’t seen them at all. Same thing with the ‘goings on’. So…I’m not sure what I’ll do at this point. To be sure, I’ve been itching to blog, so I’ll be blogging one way or the other.

6 thoughts on “So they loaded up the truck and they moved to Beverleeeeee….

  1. it’s great that the animals made the trip without any big problems. I get exhausted just thinking about how long you were in the car after so little sleep! I’m glad you received “traveling mercies’ and arrived safely!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lockie! We were too! We are also use to switching off every two hours or so to help ease the ‘hiney numbness’ and fatigue. Can’t do that when you are the sole driver. We also stopped for caffeine frequently, which meant lots of extra potty breaks in addition to the stops to retie the tarp, LOL. 🙂

      Like

  2. What a long night and I’m currently praising God that you were kept safely during your travels! I had to laugh when you mentioned the ark. I love hearing about your chickens and now your new cat, Grace. Peace and love to you!

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

