I have sustained an injury

june 24 2014 011

Yesterday I was coming down the steps of the porch and my ankle turned under me. It just gave out. I heard a ‘pop’ as I went down. Bud was on the porch at the time and saw it happen. The pain was excruciating. It was that type of pain where you can’t think about anything else but the pain and wanting it to stop immediately. It reminded me of the pain I felt when I fractured my pelvis in three places in a car wreck. You don’t want anyone to touch it, and you don’t want to move.

june 24 2014 006

I asked Bud to pray for it, and honestly–I could feel the pain subsiding while he was praying for it. I still couldn’t walk on it. Couldn’t even put the barest minimum of pressure on it. I spent the afternoon with it elevated and an ice pack on it. I eventually moved to the air mattress.

I’ve never been in a position where I absolutely couldn’t get around. I hadn’t realized how many steps I take during the day, and especially, how inefficient my use of them are.Β  With the pelvic fracture, they had me up and around with the walker the day after the accident happened. With my ankle, I tried getting around with a walking stick, and that didn’t work because I couldn’t put any pressure on my foot at all. I tried hopping, but my other leg was not that strong and hopping jostled the injured ankle. I was also afraid I might lose my balance and have to come back onto the injured ankle to steady myself.I tried holding onto and leaning on Bud, but that required putting pressure on the injured ankle to take a step. He tried to carry me, and I was worried that would hurt his back. We had the most success with me riding piggy back on Bud’s back. Finally, I figured out that the easiest thing to do was to CRAWL on all fours, with Bud’s industrial strength knee pads…but that takes a long time, and it’s very tiring.june 24 2014 005Bud left early evening to go pay his dues to the volunteer fire department. Coincidentally, the man in charge of the fire department (one station of which is just right around the bend on our road) is the Seller’s brother-in-law. He lives right up the road a few miles. While Bud was gone, I wanted to close up the hen house. I can’t stand to be non-ambulatory. I could have waited for Bud to get back, but the sun was going down fast, and I wanted to know that the hens were secure. I also wanted to take a hot bath! It had been rainy most of the afternoon, and I felt a little chilled. I wanted to relax.I got a long piece of a thick branch that I had tried to use earlier and I hopped on one foot, using the branch for stability-couldn’t put that food on the ground at all because it hurt. The action of me hopping with a large pole toward the hen house scared the few lingering hens into the hen house. I was so thankful for that. A few of them love to linger until almost all daylight is gone. I locked them in the hen house. June 23 2014 014The ground was slippery and wet, and I had almost lost my balance several times hopping on one foot, even with the branch. Thankfully, I had the knee pads on and I crawled back toward the house, crawled up the steps and crawled into the house. Then I crawled to get my nightgown, then I crawled to the bathtub. (Grace thought it was great fun to attack me in the midst of my vulnerability.) Honestly, crawling was the easiest way to go.

I had a nice, long, hot bath and I used, for the first time, my “Honey Blossom” soap that Shanda gave me. I washed my hair and soaked and it just made everything better. I went to bed relaxed and smelling like Honey Blossom Soap and I read on my Kindle for a while. Bud came home, and on my last trip to the potty, Bud met me at the door and I condescended to let him give me a piggy back to the air mattress, rather than crawl. I was never so grateful for a piggy back ride.june 24 2014 010I had contacted my younger sister about my injury. She knows just about everything regarding health and wellness, especially where natural cures are concerned. It’s a particular area of interest for her. She told me about the R.I.C.E method (Relaxation-Ice-Compression-Elevation). She also has a hotline to God. Whenever I go to her with a prayer request, she PRAYS and she takes that request to the Throne Room and her prayers get answered! She is a true prayer warrior, and I’m so glad I have her. Both of my sisters are prayer warriors and I’m so grateful for them.

This morning when I woke up at 4:30, I was grateful to realize that I had slept the night through, but my bladder was not. Bud asked me if I had to go, and I told him yes. He said that he did too, and he would be able to piggy back me in there if I let him go first. Sounded like a DEAL to me. While he was gone, I wanted to test out the ankle to see how it was this morning, and I was relieved to find out that I could put the slightest pressure on it and hobble around. It’s especially easier with the walking stick.

Bud cooked for me a bacon, cheese and onion frittata (which was very delicious) and cleaned up the kitchen. I have continued to keep my ankle on ice, and I’m trying not to abuse my new-found ambulatory skills. I am praising God that I can get around a little bit, and I’m praising God that my ankle appears to be healing so quickly.june 24 2014 012

20 thoughts on “I have sustained an injury

  1. Ouch!! That looks awful! Daniel did the same thing to his ankle last year while running. It looked just as bad :/ Hoping it heals quickly! And I love what you said about your sisters, I would agree for sure! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. I feel very blessed to have my sisters. I wish they lived closer. My ankle is doing so much better today! I am amazed. How long did it take Daniel to be mobile in a normal way? (i.e. not ‘hobbling around’)

      Like

  2. PTL that your ankle is some better. The Almighty is an awesome healer. He is never early or too late. Just don’t always know when He does it. It took about 3 weeks for my knee and leg to get back to normal. The pain was gone much sooner, but the back of my knee down to my foot was solid purple and blue just like your ankle . It looked awful and I thought I had really done something terrible to my knee. But it is perfectly normal and you would never know I had taken a fall landing on that one knee. So, am sure you will be up and around in no time. For that we can really give Him praise.

    Like

    1. Amen to that! Yesterday, I couldn’t put any pressure on it. Today, I’m hobbling around and I have been praising Him all day for that! Hardly any pain today. I’ve been keeping it on ice off and on today. I’m glad your injury healed fast, too!

      Like

  3. Yikes, that had to hurt pretty bad… My mom recently sprained her ankle for the first time. Did you cry when you rolled it?

    Like

    1. Hi Rachel! No, I didn’t cry, but it hurt really bad right after it happened. The pain really subsided a lot after Bud prayed for it. I can’t believe how much it has improved in such a short time. It’s still swollen, but hardly any pain and I’m walking a lot better.

      This was my first sprain, too. I hope your Mom’s ankle is better!

      Like

      1. Uhg, I can imagine. It sounds painful, I’ve never had a sprain. My mom did the same thing as you. Saturday we were heading out for a run and she missed the last stair off the porch. Her ankle rolled, popped, then slammed knee first into the pavement and immediately she started crying from the pain and shock of falling. It was pretty comical trying to figure out how to get her inside my brother ended up having to bridal carry her into the house. With prayer and keeping off her feet it’s quickly healing up.

        I hope yours continues to heal up quickly as well… they look like they aren’t very fun that’s for sure. haha

        Like

        1. Wow. That’s exactly how it happened with me, minus falling on my knee. We went through the same thing trying to figure out how to get me back up the porch steps because I literally could not put one ounce of weight on it.

          I’m so happy your Mom is healing up quickly! Thank you for stopping by, and for your comment!

          Like

          1. Yep that was the same with my mom she couldn’t put any weight on it nor hop on one foot, any movement would almost make her burst back into tears. She’s about 150lbs too but my 17 yo brother scooped her right up and whisked her up the stairs and into house like it was nothing.

            I like your blog I randomly came across it, your ” Gallery ” area has some beautiful photos! Take care Kara, and Godspeed. πŸ™‚

            Like

            1. Thank you for your kind words. Most of my good photos are ‘accidents’…but I’m working on it. I was curious about how you came across my blog, so thanks for telling me.

              Hope your Mom has a speedy recovery!

              Like

  4. Oh Kara! So very much I’ve missed here at your ‘little house in the Ozarks’ since your move! Just know that I am going to get to all of your posts in order to catch up, but I had to stop here first, especially after seeing your mishap! That looks like more than an ‘ouch’, (and I couldn’t even imagine the pain from that fractured pelvis you had endured, bless your heart!) I am praying your ankle is healed even more now since this fall happened. I’m very familiar with sprained and broken ankles. My son has sprained his ankle quite a few times. Lots of prayer, and yes, R.I.C.E. is the best, and we also had what is called ARNICA gel which really helped with the pain, swelling, and there was virtually no bruising at all! We used it when my hubby broke his ankle when he slipped on the ice a few years back and it helped him, as well. We’re never without it in the medicine cabinet. Your Bud is a gem, and you are blessed … what a help to you he is!

    In spite of your fall, I hope you both had a wonderful 4th of July holiday. It was noisy here with all the fireworks in the neighborhood … I thought of the quiet you two were probably experiencing there in the woods, and yes, envied you just a bit! I also remember hearing that there might have been some pretty rough weather through your way last week, or was it the week before, and I was praying for you both! We lost power here when that storm came through here, too. I have to say, I do not like severe thunderstorm/tornado warnings, and am already looking forward to the fall and winter! lol!

    You take care, Kara, and know I’ve been thinking of you and will be praying. I would have been over here to catch up sooner, but there have been some ‘family matters’ that have kept me away. Look for me to pop in here and finish my reading starting tomorrow, though! I see you haven’t been on for about a week or so, and I do hope you get back soon! Blessings to you, my friend! xo

    Like

    1. Life happens. πŸ™‚ Been there, done that…but it’s nice to ‘see’ you around! I hope things have smoothed out for you….and thank you for thinking about me. We had a lot of rain around here for a while, but no wind or damage, PTL. I’ve never heard of ARNICA, but I’m going to look it up!

      I appreciate your prayers so much!!!

      Like

      1. Oh my Kara, yes indeed, life happens, and that’s why I haven’t been back since July! Where did this last month go! We’re still dealing with those ‘family matters’ I had mentioned, and things have kept me away. Hope you and Bud are well. Hubby and I are doing fine, but our son is dealing with some issues and is needing prayer. I just wanted you to know that I’m still here and have missed reading your posts, so I’ll be catching up with you over the next couple of days! And, how is your ankle, Kara?! I imagine I may find out if I read your more recent posts, which I will do, still, I thought I would ask here. Hope you’re getting around better now. Were you able to find that ARNICA? … if so, I hope it helped! I fell the other day trying to bring a swift end to a spider on the wall above the bed … when I came down off of the bed my knee hit the edge of the attached wall shelf pretty hard. I have a nice ‘gash’ across my left knee and it’s been pretty sore, especially when I bend it. I used the ARNICA, and it didn’t bruise at all. Now I’m using vitamin E on it so it doesn’t scar as much. Haven’t hurt myself in years, so I guess I was due! lol! Well you have a great day and look for more comments from me … and hopefully soon, a post! πŸ™‚

        Like

        1. Hi Debi! My ankle is as good as new, PTL! Actually, I remember looking up the arnica, but then I forgot about it. I guess I was well on my way to healing by that time. I’m sorry to hear about your ankle, but glad that you found some relief with the arnica. I should probably get some to have on hand in case I need it some day.

          Thank you for popping in! I hope the family matters smooth out soon for you, and I’ll look forward to your post!

          Kara

          Liked by 1 person

I would love to read your comments!

