A Dog’s Life

Sept. 6, 2014 019

We had a visitor yesterday.

Bud was out talking to some men who had come to fix our roof. He said that as the men were leaving, he suddenly felt something licking his hand. He looked down and there was a DOG….an ol’ Coon Dog!

Sept. 6, 2014 004

Bud called me to come outside, and the first thing I saw was a puffy and stiff cat protecting her territory on the porch. The poor dog looked ‘cowed’ and fearful, looking up at Bud with those soulful, big, brown eyes.The dog came toward the cat, and the cat with tail looking like a pipe cleaner moved forward, as if to say, “You touch my master or my porch, you’re as good as dead.” She was not afraid of the dog at all.

Sept. 6, 2014 007

My first thought was for the chickens. Dogs are natural predators of chickens, and they must be trained not to eat them. Bud told the dog to ‘sit,’ and the dog obeyed, in fact, Bud went over by the tree and pointed to a spot and said, “sit.” The dog got up walked over to that spot and laid down.

I was afraid to let the dog out of my sight. The chickens were in the woods on the other side of the stream. The dog eventually came up on the porch. The cat was very curious. She went over to it and playfully swatted it with a retracted claw paw. The dog looked over at me with sad eyes, as if to say, “must I endure this humiliation?”

Sept. 6, 2014 026

It was a well-behaved dog, and had obviously been trained. It looked like it might have been on the road for a while. It had some scratches on it, and looked to be on the thin side. Nonetheless, we decided to tie the dog up until we could decide what to do with it. More humiliation.

Sept. 6, 2014 022Just when the dog thought it couldn’t possibly get any worse, the cat decided to go torment it.

Sept. 6, 2014 014Sept. 6, 2014 017

I’m not a dog person, and I haven’t wanted a dog. Bud had mentioned that we might need a guard dog around the place. I just couldn’t get it out of my head that sometimes things like this happen for a reason. Bud told me not to look into the dog’s eyes…and I made the mistake. I looked.

Sept. 6, 2014 008

We suspected that she probably belonged to a guy way down the dirt road. He is a relative to the people who own the property with the pond across the street (The Sellers), and they warned us that the guy semi-regularly comes after dark to go coon hunting. We know he has dogs. The first time he came to coon hunt, we were already in bed. Since we sleep with the windows open, we can hear when cars go down the road, when they slow down, and especially when they stop. Well, we heard a car stop. I lifted up my head from the pillow so that my ears could be in better position to hear. As the car doors started slamming, my heart started beating fast. Then, I nearly had a heart attack when out of nowhere this horrible, blood curdling cry of something in the throes of death started ricocheting off of the hillsides. Hound of the Baskervilles from HELL! It was terrifying! …until we realized it was the guy who had warned us that he sometimes goes coon hunting late at night, and he had brought his pack of coon dogs with him.

To make a long story short, we thought this coon dog might have gotten left behind after the last hunting trip, so we called the Seller’s Wife up the street who is his relative, asking if she had his phone number. She said the dog had been on her back patio that morning and she would call the coon hunter to see if the dog was his. I soon got a call back, and the coon hunter said the dog was not his. The Seller’s Wife told me that if it was her, she would drive it down the direction the dog was going, and drop it off down the way in hopes it could find its way back home.

We had been holding on to the dog, unsure of what she would do to the chickens. She seemed docile enough, and hadn’t shown any interest the chickens or the cat. I even took her on a leash toward the chickens to see what she would do, and she pulled on the leash in the other direction. She wouldn’t even look toward them.

After a prolonged afternoon of waiting, we finally made the decision to first, drive the dog up to some other nearby neighbors to see if the dog was theirs (it wasn’t) and then to drive it on up the hill, and let it be on its way.

We dropped it off up the hill, and it seemed happy to be out of the car. It started sniffing and following scents right away. It didn’t even look back at us. We went on home, and I must admit, I felt heavy-hearted…and I worried about the dog all evening long.

Bud said if it was meant to be ours, it would find its way back to us.

I woke up off and on last night with sounds. I looked outside. No dog. In the morning, there was no dog there. I said a little prayer for it. Not long after that, we got a call from the Homesteader saying there was a dog at his place, and he asked us what we knew about it. (To quote a line from the movie, “Doc Hollywood” -“You can’t poop in this town without everyone knowing what color it is.”)

The dog must have walked a good portion of the night to have made it all the way down there. Mr. Homesteader told us that he had fed the dog, and that the dog followed his son off of his property down the road as he was leaving for church.

Bud and I had a quick family meeting. There had been a wolf-dog hybrid that had been killing the Homesteader’s chickens, and we were afraid that the wolf-dog might kill the dog if they ran into each other. So we hopped into the car and drove down the way to look for it. Sure enough, the dog was in the middle of the road with a pack of dogs that lives down there. It started coming toward us, and with a little coaxing, I had it in the back seat of the car. We went to town to buy some dog food at the store and headed back home. The dog stayed quietly curled on the back seat the whole way.

On the way home, I asked Bud what he wanted to name her. He said it needed to be something simple that she would respond to…something like….Daisy. Believe it or not, I had been thinking the night before about what I would have named her if we were going to keep her, and that is the exact name I had thought of.

So for now, until someone claims her, or she shows more than a passing interest in the chickens, she is our’n…as long as she wants to stay.

Sept. 6, 2014 009

 

19 thoughts on “A Dog’s Life

  1. I am so glad you decided to keep the dog. It is the saddest thing to me when a stray comes around and you know it had belonged to someone. How can people just drive out to the country and drop off their pets they don’t want anymore or can’t take care of? There has been some of that in this area in the past. Until 3 or 4 years ago. one of the couples who lived down the street would pick up the strays and take them to a shelter, no kill, in hopes they would be given a home and chance to live. That couple got transferred and sold their property. I really hated to see them leave as they did such a good thing with stray dogs. In the last couple of week I have seen several dogs with collars dead on the side of Hwy. 59. Just made me want to cry.

    Your Daisy is cute and looks like she has come home to your house. A watch dog will come in handy, I think, and give you a secure feeling when you are at home by yourself. Bless you for taking her in. The pictures are good. Loved the ones with Grace letting her know who is boss there. That tail is really flared out. Aren’t animals great?

    Your message has made my day. Love you

    Like

    1. I don’t understand how someone could just drop an animal off in the country, either. How nice of that couple in your neighborhood to take it upon themselves to take care of the strays. I’ll bet they paid a pretty penny to drop them off at a ‘no kill’ shelter, too.

      This is obviously a well-trained dog, and she seems eager to please. She minds very well, and so far, she hasn’t seemed interested in the chickens at all! PTL. Daisy had to put Grace in her place once when Grace attacked her for no reason, but I think Grace learned the lesson. They are both setting their boundaries. Grace is excessively curious about the Daisy. When the dog goes exploring around the yard, she has a little gray puff ball trailing her. 🙂 I think Daisy is going to be a blessing to us, for sure, and it does feel good to have a dog around the place.

      Love you, too! Hope you are having a good day!

      Like

    2. I don’t understand how someone could just drop an animal off in the country, either. How nice of that couple in your neighborhood to take it upon themselves to take care of the strays. I’ll bet they paid a pretty penny to drop them off at a ‘no kill’ shelter, too.

      This is obviously a well-trained dog, and she seems eager to please. She minds very well, and so far, she hasn’t seemed interested in the chickens at all! PTL. Daisy had to put Grace in her place once when Grace attacked her for no reason, but I think Grace learned the lesson. They are both setting their boundaries. Grace is excessively curious about the Daisy. When the dog goes exploring around the yard, she has a little gray puff ball trailing her. 🙂 I think Daisy is going to be a blessing to us, for sure, and it does feel good to have a dog about

      Love you, too! Hope you are having a good day!

      Like

  2. AWW how sweet~
    I’m not a dog person much, but our children would love to have a dog, or a cat, our cat ran off/got lost or something after 3 days …..
    I ‘m happy Daisy found such a nice couple to take her in!! I like the name you both picked too!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lockie. 🙂 We are very excited, too. I haven’t had a dog since childhood. She seems to be a very sweet dog, and we are looking forward to having her as part of our family.

      Like

  3. Oh my! That poor dog does look so dejected and sad…I hope you get to keep her and love on her until she’s smilin’ again. That last picture made ME smile (with the cat in the background).
    Hope you’re having a good day there today. I’m a little quiet and happily blue/pensive/melancholy as R left for the week on business. I did some cleaning and came across some old papers and things that made me sad (about time’s past)…but so thankful for the day and for friends like you.

    Like

    1. I hope so too, Shanda. When we woke up this morning, she was gone. We got a call from the Mennonites and she had wandered up there and was keeping her dog, Josie, company. We went to pick Daisy up and bring her home. Maybe she’s not happy here? I don’t know. We can’t make her stay if she doesn’t want to…especially since she belonged to someone before us.

      I hope your day today is going better than yesterday, and that the melancholy has lifted. I will say an extra prayer for you today! …and I am so thankful for your friendship, too, Shanda! 🙂

      Like

  4. She looks too sweet! And forlorn. I have to confess the thought crossed my mind she might have had puppies in the recent past. It seems divine providence the dog found y’all (or is it the other way around?). 🙂

    Like

    1. Yeah…I think she has had a litter of pups in recent past, too. When we determine that she doesn’t belong to someone else, we will have to have her spayed. It does seem providential that she wandered here. I just hope she’s happy here. (She wandered off last night, but we have her back.) We will keep her as long as no one claims her, and as long as she wants to stay with us. We bought her some toys and an automatic feeder and a rawhide bone yesterday in town. I hope she will stay.

      Like

    2. I also wanted to add to my last reply that there was definitely NOT any milk in the dog’s paps….so it’s not like she has a litter of pups somewhere. You can tell that she’s definitely been a Mama in the past, though.

      Like

  5. Sounds like it was meant to be, Kara! She looks like she needs someone who really cares about her, and those eyes sure tug at the heartstrings, don’t they! She reminds me of my son’s dog, Red. She has that same look in her eyes, even with all the love she gets. He adopted her 2 years ago and they are inseparable! I believe your Grace and Daisy will become fast friends! Love all your pictures, but that last one is the best with Grace looking on. I’ve always wanted a good guard dog, but I don’t think our two ‘kitties’ would have any of it! We also live on a fairly busy road with no enclosure to our back yard, so it wouldn’t be wise. We had a small dog about 10 years ago. Hubby had her in the backyard one morning, doing her business, and she started running away and got hit by a car before he could catch her … broke our hearts, so we are sticking to house cats until we get moved to a safer area. So glad I dropped in again Kara … wasn’t able to sleep and just reading this helped me feel better about an issue we’re facing and praying about. Your posts put me in a thoughtful mood and always make me feel better! {*Note to self: must visit more often!} Have a blessed day, my friend! Hugs~

    Like

    1. Thank you, Debi. 🙂 I’m so sorry about your dog that got hit! I wouldn’t want any pets on a busy road, either.

      I appreciate your kind words, Debi…more than you know. I always appreciate encouragement about the blog. Sometimes I wonder why I am doing it or what my purpose is here. I think I need to take a break for a while and just figure that out.

      Praying all is going well with you, Debi, and hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

