It’s a Girl! …and a Boy…and a Girl….and a Girl!

October 4, 2014 007

Actually, we don’t know what the sex of the chicks are yet, and probably won’t for quite a while. Though I’m excited about it, I feel too young to be a grandmother!

Yesterday was the 21st day. I was starting to get nervous. I kept on checking (in the least invasive way I could) to see if any of the chicks had hatched.

Right before I closed the hens up for the night, I checked again. This time, I pulled an egg out, and there was a tiny hole and crack at the top of the egg. I quickly put the egg back underneath Helen, and I heard peeping! I don’t know if it was peeping inside of the egg, or if there were others that had already hatched and were underneath her.

This morning, I gently checked underneath her wings, and I found three chicks.

October 4, 2014 001

October 4, 2014 002

I have been planning to move Helen and the chicks to a large, round cardboard box, with a flap that can be opened or closed. This way, if Helen wants to take the chicks outside she can. I have food and water just outside the ‘brooder box’ door inside of the hen house.

I cut the door this afternoon, and Bud helped me move Helen and the chicks. One more chick had just hatched and was still all wet. I quickly put it underneath Helen’s wing. That means there is still the potential for 8 more eggs to hatch.

October 4, 2014 003

October 4, 2014 006

After so many futile ‘broody periods’ for Helen, I’m so happy to see her actually hatch some chicks. She has been a great mother so far! I’m hoping that we will have more chicks hatch. I’m trying to interfere as little as possible.

I just wanted to give a quick update since I know that there are a few of you who are interested in the chicks!

October 4, 2014 004

 

16 thoughts on “It’s a Girl! …and a Boy…and a Girl….and a Girl!

  1. HOW EXCITING!!!!!! That is so cool that they indeed did hatch!They are so cute! I think Helen is a keeper! Maybe you should get a big rooster now!! So she can hatch more later on!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Kim. I think she is a keeper, too! She has always been a good ‘broody’ and is prone to go broody a lot. I’m hoping that one of the chicks is a rooster. If they are not, then I’m definitely thinking about getting one.

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

