Morning in the Ozarks

sept 30, 2014 066

Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my meditation.

Hearken unto the voice of my cry, my King, and my God: for unto thee will I pray.

My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.

Psalm 5:1-3


I have always loved the morning. Morning is a time for coffee, thinking, quiet, peacefulness, reading, prayer… and an endless array of possibilities. Morning in the Ozarks is a little piece of heaven.

Living in the hollow is much different than living on the top. For one thing, it’s cooler in both Summer and Winter. The cold air sinks to the bottom. Many of the people driving by during the summer who have stopped to say, “Howdy,” have commented on how much cooler it is by our place, compared to other places on the road. ‘Sunset’ and ‘Sunrise’ come much earlier and later, respectively, in the hollow compared to the top of the hill.

My favorite time of the morning is just after the sun crests the hill and beams it’s rays into the hollow and through the trees, dappling light all over the ground.

A couple of weeks ago, Mrs. Homesteader was telling me how beautiful it has been driving to work. She lives on the top.She described all of the colors in the sky, but also mentioned that the fog has been settling in between the hills, with the tops of the hills rising above it, and how beautiful it has been.

There have been quite a few foggy days, lately. Incidentally, she also told me about an old wives tale that says that as many foggy mornings you have, if you count them, that’s how many snowy days you will have in the winter. She said she is counting them, and if that old wives tale is right, we are in for a LOT of snow this winter!

On that particular day she was talking about, I had been struck by the beauty of the morning–my version–looking up from the ‘bottom’. I took some pictures that morning, and I thought I would share them with you.

May you, too, be struck by the beauty of your morning. If it’s not immediately seen, look for it! It’s there, I promise! It’s the freckles on your loved one’s nose. It’s a flower growing through a crack in the cement. It’s the sunlight shining through the kitchen window onto the bubbles in your kitchen sink. It’s that one brightly orange leaf in a sea of green.Β  It’s in that perfectly flipped fried egg with the brightly orange yolk, and the scent of bacon frying. It’s that butterfly kiss that your husband pressed on your head as he reached for the coffee pot this morning.

May God bless you all with the ability to see all of the beauty and blessings you are surrounded with today! If you look for the beauty in today, I guarantee you’ll find it!

sept 30, 2014 021

sept 30, 2014 007

sept 30, 2014 032

sept 30, 2014 033

sept 30, 2014 071

sept 30, 2014 030

sept 30, 2014 009

October 11 2014 003

sept 30, 2014 015

sept 30, 2014 024

sept 30, 2014 035

sept 30, 2014 040

sept 30, 2014 062

13 thoughts on “Morning in the Ozarks

  1. Wow, the pictures are so nice. Loved them all especially the one of Bud and Helen and her babies. How cute the little ones are. And the pics of the rays of the sun coming through the trees are beautiful. Sure reminds me of Colorado.

    Ya’ll have good week.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I’m hoping to get some more pics of the Helen and the babies up soon! The pictures do the countryside here little justice. It’s so beautiful here. I feel so blessed. I would love to see some of your pics of Colorado sometime.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Lee Ann. My photos are still hit and miss. Sometimes I get a good one. Thank you for the compliment. I’m hoping to post some more pics of Helen and the chicks, but I’ve not been really successful at getting really good pics. They are SO CUTE. Pictures don’t do them justice.

      Like

  2. ‘look for the beauty in your day, I am sure you will find it’ I love that! There is beauty all around us and we take it for granted so much of the time. You have beautiful pictures also!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Andrea. I have to remind myself of that all time. I often find myself focusing on the things going wrong, or how I feel, and forget the beauty around me. With a little looking around, there is so much beauty in the small things that are all around. Thanks for stopping by, and for your comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kara, the beauty in your world leaves me breathless … such wonderful photos … it’s as if I were really there! I love how the sunlight splashes through the trees, and how the mist filters the light, and that is also one of my favorite verses, too. Yes, I could sit and look at your images for hours, but then, I just might miss some of God’s beauty that is here in my own backyard! Even thought we don’t have the blessing of stepping out the front door and seeing what you see, we’re always up to going in search of it! I have to say, you live in the hollow of a little bit of heaven there! Love the photo of your hubby on the porch … my sweetie sits out early every morning under the stars, steaming mug of coffee in hand, to watch the sun rise before the sound of the traffic begins to invade his solitude. He loves those moments in the wee hours of the morning when all is quiet and still. We haven’t found the right place to move to yet, but we know the Lord is in the planning. I know he is ready and would love the peacefulness of the country … and so would I! We don’t see many dirt roads like that one around here, either. I remember more of them in the country when I was a young girl. Thank you for sharing, again, all the beauty in the small things that surround you, Kara! This verse also came to mind … β€œThou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honor and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.” Revelation 4:11. And He so lovingly created them for our pleasure, too! πŸ™‚ I’ll be back soon to catch up more, and I must read about Helen and her babies! I just wanted you to know that I’m still here, and I’ll explain my absence in more detail later. Blessings to you my friend!

    Like

    1. You always leave such thoughtful replies, Debi. I have thought about you off and on, wondering how you are doing, but I don’t expect you to read my blog. πŸ™‚ I figured you were our there ‘living life’. I love hearing from you, though.

      I understand exactly where your husband is coming from. There is something really special about the solitude of morning. It’s so hard to ‘wait’ for God’s timing and answers sometimes. I’m the world’s most impatient person. After we bought this place, we had to wait a whole year before we could be up here full time. It was excrutiating! Prior to that we spent a whole year looking for the right place…the one the Lord had picked for us. We looked and looked and looked, but none of them felt right. We looked and looked on the internet, and then had to drive 10 hours to get to this area where we knew we wanted to live. Even then, we weren’t sure of the city, just Northwest AR or Southern MO. We just kept praying that the Lord would lead us to the place that He knew was best for us. Looking back, it’s easy to see that the Lord’s timing was perfect. We didn’t understand it at the time, but hindsight is always 20/20 and it all makes perfect sense after the fact.

      Thank you for sharing the scripture. It is beautiful, and I’m glad you stopped by. I hope you have a great weekend! I’m sending you a hug today, and prayers to find the perfect place that God has picked out for you. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. You’ve got a little piece of Heaven there for sure! Loved the pictures! I agree with the coffee and my Bible in the early morning hours where it’s quiet and peaceful. And His mercies are new every morning!

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

