All The Leaves Are Brown…

November 5, 2014 135

All the leaves are brown…

(…the leaves are brown)

…and the skies are gray.

(…and the skies are gray.)

Ozark Mountain dreamin’…

(O-zark Moun-tain dreamin’…)

…on an Autumn day.

(…on an Autumn day.)

November 5, 2014 107

I guess I must have taken those pictures I posted on my last blog post right at the ‘peak’ of color, because they all started to fall off in mass during the next few days. Though we still have some color, all the leaves are turning brown. I enjoyed the Autumn leaves to the fullest. Bud got irritated at me for singing the first four lines of Autumn Leaves over and over. I really don’t blame him, though. If he was humming the first few lines of Beethoven’s Fifth, I would imagine I’d get pretty irritated, too. I sang Autumn Leaves on the front porch. I sang Autumn Leaves to the chickens….in the house, to the cat, with a hat, with a mouse, with a fox, in a box… Now, I’m trying really hard to keep “Ozark Mountain Dreamin'” confined to my head. Sometimes, my head feels like it’s going to explode…but I will prevail!

November 5, 2014 136

We were awakened this morning by the call of the coyotes. It really is pretty scary to hear it, especially when you are awakened out of a dead sleep by them. It sounded like they were very close. We have been really blessed in that the Lord has protected us and our animals from predators so far. We do pray about it, often, too. Regardless, I waited a little longer than usual to let the chickens and the mighty huntress out today.

November 5, 2014 133

We have been blessed so much since we have moved here. I am humbled. We want for nothing, really…but we have been blessed above and beyond what we could ask or think, in so many ways. Bud was blessed with a log splitter recently. I can’t tell you how much easier this has made things for him. It is awesome! He can split wood in a very short amount of time with it. We are finding that our wood stove is mighty hungry and eats a lot of wood! We have so enjoyed our wood stove!

November 5, 2014 084

November 5, 2014 085

November 5, 2014 093

November 5, 2014 096

November 5, 2014 101

November 5, 2014 094

My job was to stack the wood on the porch. There is a knack to it, and I think I need more practice. Bud says you want it to have enough space so a mouse can run through the stack, but not enough space so that the cat could catch it.

November 5, 2014 102

November 5, 2014 122

Helen and the chicks…living the sticks…you’d never know that Helen use to be a city chick. I am in such awe at how well she has taken care of her chicks. They are so big now! I can’t believe they can still fit underneath her at night, but that’s where they still sleep! One day this week, the cat decided to stalk the chicks, and Helen lunged at the cat (which is much more than I can say for Rudy!) The cat was taken by surprise and immediately backed off and ran away.

November 5, 2014 141

The little Rhode Island Red chick was limping the other day, so I caught it. Oh, did it yell! The pain! You would have thought that I was killing it or something. Helen immediately jumped up and tried to snatch it out of my hands. I would have expected her to peck me, but her only concern was trying to get the chick away from me. I was very pleased to see that the rest of the hens started coming toward me, I guess to help get the chick away. I immediately talked to them in a sweet voice and told them I wasn’t hurting the baby, but they watched me carefully until I put the chick down.

November 5, 2014 119

November 5, 2014 143

One extra good thing that has come as the result of letting a broody hen hatch the chicks, is that the rest of the flock has readily accepted the chicks as part of the flock. Normally, if you introduce new hens, especially younger ones, there is a period of adjustment and it’s tough!

November 5, 2014 113Snapshot_20141105_5

Yesterday was our 21st Anniversary. I can’t believe we have been married that long. The years have just flown by! I have to honestly, say that each year just gets better and better. I can’t imagine my life without him! Bud is my best friend. He is funny and almost always in a good mood (except when I plague him by singing the first four linesΒ  ‘Autumn Leaves’ over and over and over….and over again.) He is caring and patient, a hard worker and a good provider. I can trust him with my heart, and I trust him as my spiritual head. I respect him for how smart he is, for his integrity and his good reputation. I love you dearly, Bud, and I look forward to many more years with you. Thank you for sticking with me!

We celebrated by going out to vote. The place we had to vote was at the back of a small building. The place smelled like beans… or maybe it was the aftermath. Regardless, I was glad when it was over. We ate at the Ozark Cafe, which is becoming a favorite of ours. It is in the town square and the inside is decorated with all sorts of memorabilia and old black and white pictures that people from this area have donated. I love the ambiance of the place. I had the lunch special: Hamburger steak with brown gravy, mashed potatoes and green beans. It came with the salad bar, and a biscuit. Bud had the chicken fried steak, mashed potatoes and green beans, plus the salad bar and a biscuit.

We took a different, longer way home, and it was absolutely beautiful. There are still a lot of trees left that still have Fall color. It had been raining all day and a cool front had come through, so we stoked up the wood stove when we got home and I made us some spiced apple cider.

That’s all of the news from Lake Waltmeister. I hope you all are staying warm today!

November 5, 2014 137

15 thoughts on “All The Leaves Are Brown…

  1. I think I am a first time commenter :). I just love your blog and your pictures are amazing! Wishing you and your husband a wonderful Anniversary!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your sweet wishes and kind words, Jill. I’m so glad you commented! I hope it is the first of many in the future. I know I have readers who read but don’t comment, so it’s always nice to hear from someone who reads my blog. It’s like a little piece of a mystery is solved or something. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Happy Anniversary! 21 years? Wow. It’ll be 21 years for us next April. That is hard to believe because it doesn’t feel like 21 years. Time flies. Congrats and may you have many more years together!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lee Ann. I can’t believe how fast our time together has flown by. Congrats to you and Dan, too. I didn’t realize you’d been married that long, either! Another similarity between us. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. As usual, great post and pictures beautiful. Love all those woods. The wood spliter is awesome looking. What a help that is.

    I guess Helen’s chick’s leg is OK. Kinda funny how she and the others reacted when you picked it up. I know a story about a hen and her chicks, but it is so sad that I can’t get through it without crying. Mama hens are wonderful protectors of their babies.

    Good pic of you and Bud. Congrats on 21 years of wedded bliss.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind compliments. πŸ™‚ Yes, the chicks leg seemed okay. I did notice a little scratch on it. They spend a lot of time in the brambles, so maybe that was it. The chick was not limping at all today, so I guess all is well. Regarding mother hens…the instincts God places in animals amaze me. Helen is a wonderful mother, and I have no doubt she would defend her babies to the death.

      Like

  4. First of all HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!
    I love your new profile pic!
    A wood splitter makes life so much easier huh? Rob had one in MS and neighbors from all over needed his help! It was nice because they would borrow it and bring us back a load of fire wood from their land, it worked out nice!!
    THE CHICKS are sooo BIG now! I had to giggle when you said Helen was a city chick and you couldn’t tell it!!
    The leaves are so pretty in all the stages! I can almost hear you singing your song about them :O)
    Now I can’t wait for your winter pictures!! Not to rush it or any thing :O) do you have your snow song ready for Bud?!!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the anniversary wishes and kind words about my picture. πŸ™‚

      Wow, I’d say that was a great deal on the swap for the firewood. Good trade!

      As far as my winter song…the one that runs through my head (especially when I see snow)…

      ******************************* Snow, snow, snow, snow, snow!

      It won’t be long before we’ll all be there with snow!

      Snow….snow….snow….

      I want to wash my hands, my face and hair with snow!

      Thank you for asking! LOL!

      Hope you are having a great day, Kim! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy belated anniversary! Chicken fried steak isn’t on the restaurant menus up here and that is one of my favorite meals. I’m lovin’ your hair style!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Grannie! I can’t believe you can’t get chicken fried steak! That’s horrible! 😦 I didn’t know that was one of your favorite meals.

      My hair is finally getting longer. The thing I did differently this time in trying to grow it out was keeping my bangs and the layers, instead of trimming the back to get it all one length. It made all the difference in the world, and I’m going to keep the bangs and layers this time. I’m hoping to get it a little longer, just to see what it’s like. I can always cut it if I look like a witch.

      Like

  6. Whoa you had a lot going on in that post! Happy Anni! That log splitter looks awesome if I ever fix my chimneys I will need one. Coyotes get too close to me, too. You might consider a livestock guardian dog to protect your flock. My Della supposed to be one but I got her before the flock and now she’s just my big baby. Beautiful photos as usual!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Farmeress! It’s amazing how much easier things are with that log splitter! I highly recommend them. Thanks for the suggestion of the LGD. A neighbor suggested a Great Pyrenees, in fact, I think there is someone out this way who breeds them. We are thinking we would like to have some kind of guard dog in the future, for sure.

      Like

  7. Happy Belated Anniversary! Thanks for stopping by my blog, er. two weeks ago πŸ™‚ I didn’t know I had to approve comments.. I enjoy reading your blog and seeing your photos! I need to blog more but I’ve been busy.

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

