Baby, it’s cold outside!

November 18, 2014 025

Man, has it been cold here! I’m not really complaining. We moved here to the Ozarks after living in the Houston area. When the temps reached 70 there, we all started pulling out our jackets and sweaters! This Fall, on days when it has started to reach 70 here, we start talking about how warm it is!

November 18, 2014 015We had our first snow of the season on Sunday! I think we probably got less than an inch or so of snow. It barely covered the ground, but it was fun to see.

November 18, 2014 012

Grace checked out the sit-ye-a-shun for a while, and then she took off out in it! She is fearless and LOVES the outdoors. The cold hasn’t seemed to bother her much at all, though she has wanted to come in more to take short cat naps and then she wants back outside. She doesn’t like to come inside at night, and has started to ignore my calls when dusk approaches. I’ve learned a new method that ALWAYS works. All I have to do is get the cat food and rattle the bag. She comes a’runnin!

November 18, 2014 024

I checked the thermometer this morning when I got up, and it said it was 11 degrees out there. I know this is unusual for this area. All the weathermen were making a big deal about this Polor Vortex that swept through, but most of last week we never got out of the 30’s…so we’ve been chillin’ for a while now. The pond across the road is even frozen.

November 18, 2014 047

November 18, 2014 008

The builders came back and finished the building. It only took them about 5 work days from the last pictures I took to finish it. We were so amazed at how fast they put it up! …and also that they worked when it was so cold outside. Like I said, the highs were in the 30’s for several days! We kept them supplied with hot coffee while they worked. They finally finished last Thursday.

November 18, 2014 003

We had a load of ‘fill dirt’ delivered. We hadn’t anticipated the building being quite so high off the ground. We will need another 2 or 3 loads yet, to level it out. Bud had moved it up to the center doors for easier access to the inside. I worked on building up the area up to the hen house door.

November 18, 2014 044

They are coming tomorrow to bring more dirt.

November 18, 2014 019

The work on the building has taken us away from work on the house. Sanding and painting the windows for the building was a MAJOR undertaking. It took a long time to finish them. We also had to take a few of the windows in to get the broken panes fixed.

November 18, 2014 046

Now, Bud is working to get the inside of the hen house built out. As soon as Bud finished the roosts, we moved the chickens in that night. We wanted to get them into the new hen house as soon as possible because of the cold weather. The old hen house/shed was really drafty. I think the hens like the new hen house! I’ll do another post about the chickens and the inside of their house.

I’m so grateful that Bud has the skills to do all of this. He is doing a great job! Bud is so thankful to have a shop to work in and I’m so happy for him! He is now out of the elements and has plenty of room to maneuver. He will still need to make some counter tops and get everything organized, but it’s so much better than working on the back porch! I’ll post pics of the shop when he has it built out and organized the way he wants it.

November 18, 2014 017

14 thoughts on “Baby, it’s cold outside!

  1. Wow, the new building looks great and homey. I am so excited for you and would love to see it in person. Can’t believe it was 11 degrees. I am not sure when I was ever in temp that low, altho I can’t remember what it was in Colorado those years we stayed into Nov. I have pics of lots of snow one year. It was such fun. Wish I could send them to you. I don’t have a scanner with this pc so have no way to send them. Don’t know how to do it, anyway.

    Thanks for this post. Loved it. Great blog.

    Like

    1. Thank you for always commenting on my blog. I look forward to reading them. You speak so fondly of your time in Colorado. I hope that I can see your pictures someday. Though I’ve been to Colorado, I’d love to visit the area where you use to have your place. 🙂

      Like

  2. First of all I LOVE the floor in the first pictures, the wood is gorgeous and rich. Glad Grace-the-Cat is enjoying her surroundings and that you found a way to get her to run home. Yesterday I couldn’t find Billy…finally checked the garage, sometimes the animals get stuck in there. Sure enough he was sleeping away on the tractor seat, all cozy.
    The new building looks really nice, Kara! I love the siding. Our first home had that same siding.
    Off to Bible study later on today…have a great day, friend!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Shanda. We put polyeurthane on the floors, and I was very pleased with the results. I didn’t think we could get them look that good. They are quite dirty right now, but I’m waiting for Bud to finish the air stone on the chimney before I clean it up. The extra pieces waiting to be put up are on the floor right now.

      Oh, that Billy-Cat! That is the coolest cat! 🙂 Love him.

      I didn’t know about that siding until recently. Bud pointed it out and said he’d like to have that siding on our new building and I liked it, too. It’s called ‘Board and Batten’. The siding on the house will need to be replaced at some point. It’s torn and shredded in places. I think it’s only vinyl, too. It will have to be taken off when we put in new, lower windows in places, so we’re thinking of doing it in Board and Batten to match the new building.

      Hope you are staying warm! I heard y’all were getting lots of snow up there!

      Like

  3. That building looks awesome! I can hardly wait to see the chickens enjoying their new homes. I am glad you found a way that will bring Grace-the-Cat home every single time. I used to have a black and white tuxedo in my youth that came a running every time we ran the can opener. LOL. 🙂

    It has been cold here and we were without power one morning for four hours. I know that that isn’t much considering it was 38 degrees outside and 65 degrees inside; but, I suffered. I got so used to having the space heater on and on this morning and there was nothing to help us stay warm. My hands hurt terribly most of the day — they cannot take the cold much. I even warmed them off the grill outside while making my lunch. Now, that is sad.

    I got to realizing how much we are so reliant on electricity and it scared me. I was telling Dan that we need to get something — a generator or propane tank for those possible events where we’d be without power for days on end. I miss having a fireplace even though we don’t really need them down here most of the time. But, it would have been nice the morning we had no power.

    Looking forward to seeing the chickens in their new home!

    Like

    1. Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry you’ve been without power. Was it the weather that caused it?

      It probably wouldn’t be a bad idea to prepare for no electricity. I’ve heard so much about how vulnerable our power grid is from hackers, sun activity, etc. We’ve tried to prepare as much as we possibly can here, but the first time the electricity went off for a couple of hours, we saw how unprepared we were. Our propane heater won’t heat any water if it’s not having water pumped into it by our electric water pump. :-/ We can always go out to the spring for water if we need it, but no showers or water until the electricity comes back on.

      I had to laugh at you cooking your lunch and warming your hands on the grill. Not happy about your compromised and uncomfortable position, but I just got a mental picture and it struck me funny.

      I hope you are warm again. 🙂 That’s pretty cold weather for down your way!

      Like

    1. Thank you, A.W.N. Sometimes, all we have yet to do can be very overwhelming and I have to stop and remind myself how far we’ve come along. Thank you for stopping by, and for your encouragement. I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving!

      Like

  4. Kara,
    what a beautiful place you have. I am amazed at the work you two have gotten done. And the love that’s been poured in is evident. It took a while but I scrolled through and got all caught up with your blogs and photos. We spent the summer back and forth to medical center heart institute with my mom having heart surgery but in the end she just simply missed my dad terribly and passed peacefully at home a few weeks ago. I believe sometimes there is something worse than death. Especially when you know that so much awaits you on the other side. But I miss her everyday. I look at these photos and think Man, what beauty. What peace. How wonderful to be so close to nature and watch how God made everything down to the tiniest details. I saw that y’all had an anniversary. How wonderful to get this time together of work and play. You are so blessed my friend. ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Sandy!

      It’s so good to hear from you! I didn’t know you still had my blog address. Thank you for caring enough to read through my blog. It means the world to me that you would do that. As you know, I’m no longer on Facebook, and though there are people on there I miss terribly, I know I’ve made the right decision for me, and I’m pretty sure it’s permanent this time. I’m glad to still be in touch with you. I often think of the times we got together and how much I enjoyed talking with you. You are an inspiration to me.

      I’m so sorry to hear about your Mom. I know how much you miss her. It took me a very long time (and a lot of prayer) to come to terms with the pain of losing my own Mom, but I’ll tell you as people told me (as much as it doesn’t seem right now, and as much as you can’t fathom it)…it does get easier, though you never stop missing her and think of her often. This Christmas, I’m sure, will be a tough one for you all. I know you miss both of your parents a lot, but I’m so grateful that you know where they are at right now, and that all of their pain and suffering is gone.

      I feel SO blessed, Sandy. I’m so thankful that the Lord has blessed us so much. Usually, I thank Him for supplying all of our needs and protecting us each day, and for the beauty that surrounds us…for giving us this place…but this morning, in particular, I was overwhelmed with gratitude for His Grace and Mercy. Lord knows I’ve had some rough times in my life. I don’t ‘deserve’ anything…but God is faithful. As long as we hold fast during the tough times, and keep looking up, and keep trying…He always comes through, and the sun/Son comes out in the end. He has proved it over and over again in my life.

      I pray for God’s peace during this time for you and your family, Sandy. Thank you for reading, and for your kind words. I’m so glad you dropped by!

      Like

  5. It looks beautiful there! Time to hibernate with temperatures that cold. In the winter, we read a lot more and go to bed earlier. We have recently bought flannel sheets for the bed and now are in heaven when we sleep.

    Like

    1. Funny you should say that, because it seems we have been going to bed really early, too. I hadn’t thought of the flannel sheets. We had some when we lived in the Houston area, and I never liked them because they were so hot. The bedroom is the coldest place in this house, and we are still sleeping on the air mattress on the floor. There is so much to do…the bedroom will probably be the last priority.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

