A Very, Merry, Introverted, Tiny, Grateful Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving 2014 107

It was a crisp, cool, Thanksgiving Day. The air had been washed fresh by the latest cool front. The cool weather kills the pond scum and it’s so pretty over there. When the wind blows and the sun is shining, a million tiny diamonds sparkle on the surface of the water. Today, it was so still, that you could see the reflection on the top of it.

Thanksgiving 2014 149

We kept the wood stove stoked all day. I don’t think the temperatures got out of the low 40’s. We awakened early…we always do…but we are usually in bed by 7:00 or 8:00 p.m. We had our devotional time together; something I’ve been very grateful for since Bud has retired. We both enjoy it…and it’s a time for us to pray together. There is strength in numbers when praying for people. We have made it to the Judges and those Israelites are still rebelling and following other gods, yet God still welcomes them with open arms when they come back to him. Thank God for His Grace and Mercy…and then in the New Testament we are reading about Paul telling those Galatians that they can’t earn their salvation by following the law. Then, we told the Lord how grateful we are…for His Word, for each other, for our families, for this place he has provided for us, for our new building, for protecting us and providing for us…we are so very grateful.

Thanksgiving 2014 126

This was our first real Thanksgiving in our little house in the Ozarks. It’s difficult to leave when you have chickens. They don’t require a lot of work and attention, but it’s a steady commitment that can’t be shirked. They have to be locked up at night to keep them safe, and let out in the morning.

Thanksgiving 2014 155Thanksgiving 2014 150

I still have no oven. Long story if you haven’t been following for a while. In short, we need a gas oven out here, because we’ve been told by just about everyone living out here that when the electricity goes out due to a storm, it can take two weeks for them to get it restored out this way. Since there are not a lot of people who live out this way, this area is the last priority for them. They no longer make gas ovens that don’t require no electricity due to a law outlawing standing pilot lights. We need all gas out here. We tried ordering a commercial oven and had to return it three times due to damage. The last time, we said, “No thanks.” We have ordered a residential oven that has a ‘battery spark’ ignition, but the time frame they gave us was 4-6 weeks. So…I cooked Thanksgiving for the two of us with my camp stove, a crockpot, and a toaster oven that the Soap Lady graciously offered to let me use until I get my stove/oven.

Thanksgiving 2014 091

Let me just say it again…I LOVE this stove. It has been very good to me.

I tried to think of what I could do to make a Thanksgiving Dinner that I could pull off with what I had available to me. I should also mention that I have been eating gluten free for several months now, and I wanted to stay as gluten free as I could, without suffering too much. I can really tell a difference when I’m not eating gluten. I’ve not been tested for Celiac Disease, or Gluten Intolerance, but there is so much difference when I’m not on gluten, that I’m convinced it’s not good for me. After about a week of being off of it, the inflammation weight just melts off. I can especially tell it in my face. Here, see for yourself:

BEFORE

Snapshot_20140421_30

AFTER:

Snapshot_20131219_3

I bought a smoked turkey, and cooked it in the crockpot. It fit perfectly. It was actually two breasts, and looked just like a turkey without the wings or legs.

Thanksgiving 2014 086

The Soap Lady grew sweet potatoes this year and she had so many that she gave me some. Some of them are absolutely HUGE! I was able to make good use of one of them. This was my victim:

Thanksgiving 2014 057

I made mashed sweet potatoes and mashed russet potatoes on the stove, and then put them in some small bake-ware I had in order to re-heat them. I also made a small green bean casserole.

Thanksgiving 2014 054

Those three things fit into the toaster oven. It’s a really nice, sturdy, toaster oven in which you could actually bake things. They don’t make them like this anymore. It was a life-saver.

Thanksgiving 2014 098

I made the infamous Five Cup Salad. Bud told me it’s called, “Ambrosia” where he hails from, (say it with your pinky curled in front of you,) but we’ve always called it Six Cup Salad because it has a cup of each of the six ingredients. Actually, it seems like it use to be called ‘Seven Cup Salad,’ but for the life of me, I can’t remember what the seventh ingredient is. Maybe it was Five Cup Salad and I added something extra? Maybe I should just suck it up, curl my pinky out in front of me, and just start calling it, “Ambrosia.”

Thanksgiving 2014 104

SIX CUP SALAD

1 Cup of Mandarin Oranges (Drained)

1 Cup of Pineapple Tidbits (Drained)

1 Cup Pecans

1 Cup Coconut

1 Cup Sour Cream.

1 Cup Marshmellows

Mix Well, Chill and Serve.

~~~

I stuffed some celery with cream cheese, put some olives in a dish, and sliced some pickles to make them all ‘fancy’. I had bought some of the traditional Jellied Cranberry sauce, and all of that was our relish tray.

Thanksgiving 2014 092

Thanksgiving 2014 099

I found a package of gluten free gravy mix at the grocery store here at our hick Walmart! It wasn’t as good as Mom’s (or mine) but given my limited resources, (and dietary considerations) it was not too shabby.

Everything Bud does is beautiful. He has such an artistic eye. He knows how to put colors and textures together in an aesthetic way. I’ve watched him hold pictures up behind the couch, and make certain colors in the couch ‘pop’ because of the colors in the picture. I’ve placed Nick-Nacks on a shelf, and it looks like a jumbled rummage sale, and have then watched Bud go over and rearrange a few things and make it look like a work of art! I envy that. It blows me away. I’m more of a practical kind of gal. Load ‘er up. Get ‘er done. Case in point:

MY PLATE:

Thanksgiving 2014 110

BUD’S PLATE:

Thanksgiving 2014 111

We thoroughly enjoyed our Thanksgiving day here. For those of you who love to be around a lot of people, believe it or not, we Introverts really CAN enjoy a quiet day together. I know there is a tendency to believe that we are all pale and eat small children for dessert. We do enjoy being around people, too…it just didn’t work out that way for us this year, but it was enjoyable, nonetheless.

I hope you all had a very happy Thanksgiving this year, too. I’m thankful for all of you who, for reasons I can’t understand, continue to read my drivel on this blog. From the bottom of heart, “Thank You.” You all make blogging a whole lot more fun than just writing for myself in a journal. πŸ™‚

Thanksgiving 2014 028

Thanksgiving 2014 032Thanksgiving 2014 129

19 thoughts on “A Very, Merry, Introverted, Tiny, Grateful Thanksgiving

    1. Awwww… πŸ™‚ Thank you, Kendra. It makes me smile that you call it ‘Granny’s Salad.’ I think I like that much better than calling it ‘Ambrosia.’

      I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, too!

      Like

  1. It sounds like a very PEACEFUL Thanksgiving! And man, you are DEFINITELY a pioneer woman! I could never do that. At least, I don’t think so. But, you never know what I could do with what life throws at me. That food looks delish!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing ya’lls day. Looks beautiful and simple. I am going for that next year-less work. Will write you more later. We are going to meet Gena and return the meds for her dog that she forgot to get as she was loading up to go home last night. We had good dinner, good fellowship, and lots of work.

    Like

  3. Your meal turned out just right! I love how you’ve worked with what you have and made it a success. I also loved what you wrote about Bud. What a blessing to have him as a husband…and I know he could give us ways that you enrich his life as well. Your pictures are so pretty. Happy Thanksgiving to my introverted friend. (I’m introverted, & have been spending way to much time with people lately and want to crawl in a hole someplace today! LOL)

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Shanda. πŸ™‚ I hope you had a great Thanksgiving. I’ll bet you are exhausted! I know, too well, your feeling of wanting to crawl in a hole! LOL. I’ll bet it wouldn’t be too long before you had some little ones crawl in there with you. πŸ™‚ I hope you are able to get some rest and private time.Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. What a beautiful meal! And a lot of work too. You have leftovers though so it was worth all the work. I never knew that salad was called ambrosia. My title for it was Mama’s Fruit Salad because she’s the one that gave it to me and she had no name for it. Now My daughter calls it Granny’s Fruit Salad, ha! She put her own twist on it as she did all of her recipes, because her recipe isn’t a cup each of all of those ingredients. I guess it was her own recipe after all so it should be named after her. Makes me miss her to talk about her. Oh how she must be
    having a wonderful time in Heaven.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Grannie. We ate the whole meal together one more time after Thanksgiving, and then we had turkey sandwiches and I used the side dishes left over for other meals to change it up a little bit. Thanks, too, for clearing the mystery of the name up. Whatever changes Made made were delicious… and addictive. I told Bud that the next time I go to the store, I’m getting more ingredients to make it again! Since I made small portions, I didn’t get my fill and I’m still craving it.

      I hope you had a good Thanksgiving!

      Like

  5. I think all the ingredients are the same as your recipe but here goes: two cans 15 ounce tidbit pineapple two small cans mandarin oranges 2 cups marshmallows one cup coconut 8 ounce sour cream (I use walnuts instead)

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

