Roses are Red

Thanksgiving 2014 154

This is Rose. I haven’t introduced her yet. We got her when we picked up Rudy (Toot-Toot)…the rooster. We needed some laying hens immediately, since none of our hens were laying, and it would be a while before the chicks would be old enough to lay. We actually picked up two more chickens at the same time. They were all $5 a piece.

To make a long story, short…one turned out to be a rooster, and we gave him to the Soap Lady’s Son. I’m happy to report that he’s thriving there with a harem which is at least three times the size of Rudy’s brood. Word has it that little guy has grown his tail feathers and has found his ‘crow.’ I’m so happy he went to a good home. The other chicken turned out to be very sick, and was not recovering in spite of heroic efforts on my part to save her, so we had to put her down. Rudy has turned out to be somewhat of a dweeb, but he keeps us entertained, and the ladies tolerate him, so I think we’ll keep him.

Jan 13, 2015 053

Rose is a pullet (under a year old) but we have no idea exactly how old she is. It took her a while to integrate with the rest of the flock, since she was much younger than the other gals. Consequently, she’s very quick on her feet.

Thanksgiving 2014 152

I wanted to introduce her because this is an auspicious occasion. Yesterday I went out to the hen house and found an egg! It was quite small, so I know it didn’t come from any of my other hens. ThisΒ  morning, I found another one! I’ve noticed that the past few days, she walks with a little more strut in her step after her chicken rite of passage. There is nothing like gathering a ‘first egg’. I’m pretty proud of it, too!

Jan 13, 2015 127

 

13 thoughts on “Roses are Red

  1. That is awesome! Hurray for Rose!

    I’m sorry to hear that the other two did not work out. It is always a risk getting animals — especially animals like chickens. Lately, I’ve been wanting a donkey. Can you believe that?!?! But, I can’t get one. It wouldn’t be fair to it because they like to be with other herd like animals.

    I still want chickens; but, Dan is still discouraging me because it is not easy to just take off if we have some. *sigh*

    Like

    1. Unfortunately, what Dan says is really true. Chickens really don’t take much time or work, but it’s a twice a day commitment to let them out each morning and lock them up at night. If you had a really secure run, it might be possible to have it surrounding the hen house door, and just keep the hen house door open so they could come and go as they please within the run and hen house and still be secure. There are some people who have water nipples (so the water doesn’t need to be refilled or changed each day). That might buy you a few days, but I think I’d still worry a lot and have a neighbor check on them.

      Wow. The donkey is something out of the blue. No, I wouldn’t have suspected that one of you. πŸ˜›

      Like

    1. It’s good to see you around, Kim! That little girl has been laying EVERY day since she started! Also, my other older hens are laying now. They are past their egg-laying prime years, so I am very happy! I have started giving them a higher protein feed.

      I hope you and your family are doing well. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like Rose. I smiled when you wrote about her being quick on her feet (just like in that first picture!). She’s a good hen, giving you her daily egg. I’m getting excited about ordering chicks again for the spring!

    Like

    1. After having had chicks for the first time, I understand completely! I hope you will post pictures of them when they arrive!

      Thankfully, our egg production has picked up. We are getting about 4-5 eggs a day now, including from our older girls!

      Like

  3. I really enjoy hearing about your chickens, Kara. Their names give them character, too. Wish we had a place to have some of our own. I was just saying to hubby the other day that I would enjoy gathering our own fresh eggs at dawn for breakfast, or any other time of the day, for that matter! And besides, they sure would give me something to blog about! So glad to read their egg production has picked up, too … you can never have enough eggs in my opinion! Hey, they’re good for you! πŸ™‚

    Like

I would love to read your comments!

