What’s More American than Apple Pie?

July 25, 2014 029

I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com quite a few years ago. It has been the ONLY Apple Pie recipe that I have made from that point on, and I’ll never try any other recipe. It’s that good.

Someone once told me that it was too much trouble to make the lattice top, and suggested that I just use a plain top with slits. Part of the deliciousness of this recipe is that you pour the filling on top, and it seeps through the lattice to the inside of the pie. When it bakes, the filling carmelizes on the top of the crust and makes it crunchy.

The only change I’ve made to the original recipe is that I add 1 tsp. of cinnamon when I make the filling. The original recipe didn’t call for it.

July 25, 2014 002

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

~

1 recipe pastry for a 9-inch double pie crust

1/2 cup butter

3 TBS. all-purpose flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

8 Granny Smith Apples, peeled, cored and sliced

~

1.) Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Melt the butter in a sauce pan. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon and bring to a boil. Reduce temperature and let simmer.

2.) Place the bottom crust in the pie pan. Fill with apples, mounded slightly. Cover with a lattice work of crust. Gently pour the sugar and butter liquid over the crust. Pour slowly so that it does not run off.

3.) Bake 15 minutes in the preheated oven. Reduce the temperature to 350 degrees. Continue baking for 35-40 minutes, until apples are soft.


Tips!

*Place the pie on a baking sheet before pouring sugar mixture on top. Keep pie on baking sheet while baking, because it does have a tendency to boil over.

*You will think that the sugar/butter mixture is not going to seep down enough, or that it won’t be enough to mix with the apples. Trust me. It’s always enough.

*I like >>>this pie crust.<<<  I use freshly ground wheat. I don’t get as many pie crusts out of the recipe as she does. These pie crusts freeze well if you make them into a ball and enclose in plastic wrap or a ziplock!

*Best eaten fresh out of the oven or within a day or two. After that, the crust loses it’s crunch.

July 25, 2014 016

12 thoughts on “What’s More American than Apple Pie?

    1. I have been doing really well going gluten free (and have felt much better for it)…but I did have a piece of this pie when I made it. Bud will eat the rest. 🙂

      Like

    1. The link is under ‘tips’. I just put arrows there so you can see the link more clearly. I think she says she gets 3 pie crusts (with tops) out of her recipe. I get 2 pie crusts (with tops). That’s basically 4 pie crusts. You could probably half the recipe. I use half butter/half lard…so If I make the whole recipe, it’s about 1 cup butter, and 3/4 cups lard.

      Like

  1. I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to report back on how the pie turned out. Well…I don’t think I made this correctly. I went to the allrecipes website to figure out how to lay the lattice crust and found that I was to add half a cup of water when making the sauce, and that it would make a paste and mine wasn’t a paste so I added a little more flour and of course it did not pour over the crust well. I will try it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will conquer and enjoy this delicious pie!

    Like

    1. 1/2 cup of water would make the sauce way too watery, and cause the crust on bottom to be doughy. The inside will not ‘set up’. Mine is not a paste, either. I think that cooking the sauce just the right amount of time before you pour it on the pie is key. I would say that mine usually is the consistency of hot fudge topping, maybe a little thinner before I pour it on. Cook it too long, and it will be too think or turn into candy. I have never added more flour than called for.

      I’m sorry it didn’t turn out well for you. I always get raves on this recipe.

      Like

    2. One thing I would also suggest…

      With my new gas stove, the crust got dark really quickly. All ovens are different. Next time, I think I’m going to try baking at 350 degrees all the way through and see how it does. You can always bump the temp up at the end if the top of the crust hasn’t caramelized.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

