The Status of my Crown and Other ‘Turkey’ Talk

It has been pretty cold the past few days, but the sun is shining brightly. The wind is blowing briskly and scattering all of the Fall Leaves that are now on the ground. Standing in the sun, it’s tolerable. The house smells of yeast and gluten, and I hear the whirring sound of the bread machine and the humming of the washing machine. Bud has gone to a mill to look at some wood, so I am here alone today.

On such a beautiful Fall day, how could anyone feel ‘bad’? I have been back on the Flylady bandwagon. Flylady would say, “You’re never behind” and “Housework done incorrectly still blesses your family.” Let’s just say after all these years, I’m still ‘fluttering’…and I’m learning that ‘getting dressed to the shoes’ and ‘making myface’ and combing my hair, REALLY DOES make a difference in my day.

Case in point: I was emailing someone and trying to tell them HOW HUGE the turkey I’ll be cooking this year is, and describing it just wasn’t doing it justice. I tried taking a picture, but the sheer magnitude of this turkey was not being captured.

DSC_0001

I finally asked Bud to take a picture of me this morning. Of course, with my hair pulled back in a pony tail, and no make-up on, I was a FRIGHT!  I hadn’t gotten ‘dressed to the shoes’ and I had not ‘fixed my hair and face’ like I ought to have done. You are so RIGHT Flylady! It’s easy NOT to do it, seeing how we are living out here in the country and might not see people for days. I sent the picture, anyway, but I doctored it up first.

DSC_0008

De-pressing! There is nothing like seeing a photo of yourself to give you a wake-up call. It was horrible. HORRIBLE, I tell you. So, I then began hearing Flylady’s voice in my head. I decided to see if I could still ‘clean up nice’.

Some of you reading my blog have followed my quest to grow old gracefully,  ditch the dye,  and let my gray hair grow in. Growing old is not for the faint of heart, but I’d much rather allow myself to be ME, rather than to feel like I’m in a race, and slowly falling behind.

When I was a child and I was being chased by the boys in our neighborhood (kiss -n- chase was a popular game in my hood), I knew I couldn’t win. They always caught me, no matter how fast I ran. I finally learned that it was much less stressful to just stop running,  let them catch me, and get it over with, rather than wearing myself out when I knew they were gaining on me and would catch me, anyway. (NO, I didn’t enjoy those slobbery boy kisses at that age.) Growing in my gray hair and allowing myself to go ahead and age has been similar to that.

I’m getting to be an expert on Gray Hair. Gray hair is like the little girl with the curl on her head. When she was good, she was very, VERY good…but when she was BAD, she was HORRID! Gray hair is very much like that. You really have to work to keep it looking good, because when you don’t…it’s witchy-poo time.

I know women of  a certain age aren’t supposed to wear their hair long, as it draws down their face, but when I take my hike in the Spring, I want to wear a Katniss Everdeen braid.

katniss-katniss-everdeen-32304837-900-600

(Photo courtesy of Fanpop.com)

That is my goal. Otherwise, I never would have made it this far. Growing out hair is like…like…ugh. I don’t know…but I hate it. Since I’ll go days and days without a shower when I do my hike, I figure that wearing it in a braid will be the best thing to do.

Ironically, I first got my hair cut into a Pixie to cut all of the dye off on my Birthday the year ‘The Hunger Games’ first showed at the theater. The reason I remember this, is that I treated myself to a movie that day, and I went to see the Hunger Games. I didn’t even know what it was about, but knew it was a popular movie. Is there a cooler name than Katniss? Maybe I should name one of my chickens, “Katniss”.

Here is a picture of that Pixie:

ec0f8dd81d51e60518abd589309c443340591523

Here are the pics I took this morning after I ‘cleaned up’ and got dressed to the shoes.

Snapshot_20151120_21

Snapshot_20151120_29

Snapshot_20151120_33

The Moral of the story is:

  1. Clean up.
  2. Put some Make-Up On.
  3. Take a picture in some really bright, natural light so the crevices and wrinkles don’t show up too much. 🙂

We’re going to have neighbors over for Thanksgiving. (The Soap Lady and Son). I’m very excited. It’s so much more fun to cook for more than two people, and Bud and I really enjoy their company. I’ll be making the whole she-bang. I’m still debating on how to cook the turkey. It’s almost too big for the pan. Thanks to Sissy, I have an excellent potential fallback method to cook this turkey. 😉

Since I am non-glutinous and mostly Low Carb/Paleo, I haven’t been making bread products; however, I’m ‘practicing’ today…making some yeast rolls. I want to make sure I have a good recipe to protect against ‘flops’ on the Big Day. Bud will be the one taste-testing. On Thanksgiving Day, however, I’m throwing caution into the wind. I’m going to yell, “Wahoo!” and stuff my face with all sorts of forbidden morsels. 🙂

Hope you all are dressed to the shoes and are having a beautiful day today!

 

12 thoughts on “The Status of my Crown and Other ‘Turkey’ Talk

  1. Holy Guacamole! The turkey is HUGE! And, our hair is GORGEOUS. Mine is still salt and pepper and it’s driving me crazy. I want it to be ALL grey. NOW!. LOL. 🙂 I hope you have a fabulous and blessed time with your neighbors on Thanksgiving day.

    Flylady has been ditched and kicked to the curb around here. I’ve been very depressed lately and just don’t wanna do anything. It’s about all I can do to do the dishes and laundry and let the cats outside (while I sit in the chair watching). I have been doing some hand quilting; but, that’s easy sitting around doing nothing while watching TV (along with hand quilting). . 🙂

    Fortunately (for you), I am dressed today (even as I am typing). I wanted to go to a garage sale and I always like being there upon opening. So, I was dressed by 7:30am this morning. I ended up going to an unadvertised garage sale too on the way to the city. Nothing. Absolutely nothing (at the garage sales). I did get some decent shopping done in the city though and managed to get sales and/or discounts on top of them all. I got Dan a belt with $10 off coupon (KOHL’s — my favorite store at the moment). I needed a new quilting hoop as my old one is about to fall apart. I bought a favorite scent of hand soap for $6.50 and got some body soap free (value $12.50) with a coupon! Hot diggity dog! And, it’s MY favorite kind (Bath and Body Works)!

    When I was done for the day, I texted Dan asking “Are you going to invite me out to lunch?” He replied with “I was waiting for you to invite me!” LOL. We had lunch at the food trucks located in front of his office. Food trucks come by his office every Friday. The weather was nice and it was like being at a picnic with a bunch of strangers. LOL. I enjoyed it. 🙂

    By the way, I will be a lot like you on Thanksgiving, eating the forbidden things that have gluten. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lee Ann. Your hair is pretty! You were one of the original pioneers, before Gray Hair went mainstream! That takes a lot of fortitude! FWIW, mine is not completely white either…has a lot of brown in it, especially underneath the top layer and in back. For some reason, my hair looks brighter and whiter when the light shines on it.

      I’m kind of in shock hearing you’ve ditched Flylady! You were always my hero in that department. If anyone understands, I DO. I’ve been where you are at…and it is hard to get back on the bandwagon. My biggest problem is starting. I get overwhelmed with what seems like a monumental task, but you know…she’s right about that, too. If I break it down into small chunks, don’t beat myself up for it not being perfect (or not doing MORE)…if I keep the ‘do it now’ principal in the forefront of my mind, it really works…and I feel so much better about myself and things.

      I read a motivational article in the past month or so that was talking about a study done that said those who were rewarded with something appreciated it most if they had worked for it. I related that to my own situation with how good it feels to finally get things in the shape, and working for it, one small chunk at a time. It really is satisfying…but the frustrated perfectionist in me does it’s darndest to thwart me before I get started. So much of what Flylady says is so true for me. Her principals are so simple, but are something I need to hear -often. There really is something to what she says, too, about getting dressed and fixing yourself up…at least for me. It makes all the difference in the world.

      I also read a study about how taking a walk outside, especially where there are trees, helps a person’s outlook. It was something physiological that happened from walking outside in nature.

      Depression is not fun. 😦 I’ll say a prayer for you, sweet friend. Sometimes, the prayers of others is the only thing that holds me up!

      I have always been amazed at your frugality and the things you find for little or nothing! I think a food truck lunch sounds fun! …especially if it’s an impromptu date with your husband, and the weather is gorgeous. I remember living in your barrio, and I loved the atmosphere in that town…and the dry air that came through there when the wind was from the North.

      I hope you have a wonderful (forbidden) Thanksgiving gorge! 🙂

      Like

      1. Thank you for your prayers! I am still on the frugality bandwagon. 🙂 I wish there were trees on our land (other than the crepe myrtles). We planted three pecan trees and only one has survived. I most likely will be back on the Flylady bandwagon again someday. Right now, it’s abandoned. When I woke up this morning, I was shocked to see frost outside! It was 29 degrees! Both of my cats wanted out and I was like “no way!” LOL. They will have to wait until this afternoon when it is warmer. 🙂 Have a lovely Thanksgiving!

        Like

  2. Growing old took a bit of a perspective reality check this morning. I read an article (Appalachian Trails) about the new record holder for AT 2015. A 67 year old woman completed her thru hike in October and her smiling face was photo’d atop that windy mountain in Maine STANDING NEXT TO HER HIKING COMPANION, A 74 YAR OLD WOMAN. If you hear me complain about how hard it is to train for a thru hike you have my permission to throw something at me. AT 2017 or bust!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing that story. That’s amazing, and VERY encouraging. I’m sure I won’t know until I get there, but I’ve read that a lot of the trail is very challenging with steep climbs and slippery slopes. Difficult for the young’ns, much less us old people!

      Yes, I’ll keep my carabiner handy to throw your way if you complain, and I’ll expect you to do the same.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I so enjoyed reading this! You sound so excited and happy, and you’re certainly blessed with natural radiant beauty, Kara! I just love your hair! Mine is probably much too long for a woman my age. It’s almost waist length now, with a few gray strands sprinkled in with the mousy brown, but honestly, I adore gray hair (wish I had a bit more) … and that braid will be perfect on your hike! 🙂

    Oh my, that turkey is humongous! It sure wouldn’t fit in our oven without removing a rack, or two, first. We’re gluten-free, and we’re also throwing caution to the wind on Thanksgiving and enjoying all those tasty morsels ourselves! Besides, we think we deserve it … my hubby and I have been icky sick with the flu, me for a month, hubby for two, 😦 and right now we’re both really tired of what’s been our main diet of chicken soup/broth, and saltines, (gluten-free of course). We’ve come to the conclusion that we’re in need of some ‘real’ food and so we figure, since we’re feeling better now, that Thanksgiving is good place to start! 😀

    Have fun ‘practicing’ on your hubby there … I’m sure he doesn’t mind being the taste tester one bit! I have no doubt everything will be delightful and yummy for you all next week! Be blessed and enjoy, my friend! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I needed a kind word about my hair today. It doesn’t happen often, but sometimes, I just want to chop it all off again. I do so hate messing with my hair. 😦

      I didn’t know that your hair was long! …and that you’ve let your gray grow in. The only pic I’ve ever seen of you is your profile pic. It sounds like you have ‘natural highlights’. 🙂 I remember how I use to pay big bucks to get ‘highlights’. It always looked so unnatural. I have seen so many pictures of women who have grown in their gray, and the color fits so much better with their complexion.

      Wow. That’s a long time to be sick! I hope y’all are on the mend. Do y’all feel better now that you are gluten free? I can tell such a big difference, especially with the mental fog. Also, when I eat wheat, I can feel something funky going on in my thyroid area after I eat it. I figure you have to splurge sometime in order to remain sane, and I feel less guilty since you (and Lee Ann) are throwing caution into the wind on Thanksgiving, too!

      Thank you for stopping by, and I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

      Like

  4. You clean up well Kara! Your hair is a pretty gray just like Mama’s. Remember how people used to compliment her on it all the time? It looks good down, but I can see that it would look good in the braid too. Have you found any of those grays in your eyebrows yet? Ha!

    That is a HUGE turkey! Can you save half of that for another time and make it in bite size pieces? If you make it the bite sized way, you will need to begin a few days ahead (i.e. cut it up one day, fry the next, bake the next). One other thing about the water in the pan, you want it to cook down but never lose all the water so the bottom of it will stay moist. Let me know how it turns out! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the compliment. 🙂 I always thought Mama’s hair was pretty…and YES, LOL. I DO have grays in my eyebrows. You will be horrified to know that I’ve decided to keep them. Occasionally, there will be a very long one, and I either trim it, or I might pluck it out if it’s way out of place. If I pluck them all out, pretty soon, I won’t have any left.

      I had thought about cutting the turkey in half, but didn’t think to save the other half and do it the other way…or I could do it both ways, I guess. Thanks for the tips about doing it ahead and the water. I’ll let you know what I decide to do and how it turns out!

      Hope you have a great Thanksgiving, too!

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

