Didn’t it rain? Children, My Lord! Didn’t it Rain!

Sister Rosetta Tharpe

My title is a line from a song about Noah that I sang in Sunday School as a child. It is still stuck in my head. To my recollection, the words I sang in Sunday School went something like this:

Didn’t it rain for 40 days and 40 nights without stopping
Didn’t it rain so hard that the water stopped a droppin’
Oh didn’t it rain, children, my Lord, didn’t it rain!

In the video above of Sister Rosetta Tharpe, the words are a bit different, but it’s worth it to watch the video. The Spirit was moving me yesterday, and I belted out the words off and on all day long. It’s a good thing Bud was not home to hear it. Grace (our cat) didn’t seem to mind, though. She is accustomed to my singing to her.

Why was I singing? Because it rained so hard that the water stopped a droppin! It was a real frog choker yesterday. At times, the rain was very heavy. Being in the hills, it’s normal for the creeks to fill rapidly when we get a lot of rain in a short period of time. This is our rainy season, so the ground was already saturated, which didn’t help things.

It rained for most of the day. I was grateful to be inside, but I worried about my chickens. They really don’t have the sense to get out of the rain. When it rains, they usually camp out under the back deck, under the eave of the pump house or on the front porch. Sometimes they get bored and just can’t stand it anymore and will go out into the rain to forage. Often, the rain will stir up bugs and worms, so it can be a chicken’s paradise out there.

I was worried about our little chicks, as this was their first major rain. They are about 10 weeks old now, and have been free-ranging and sleeping in the hen house for a couple of weeks. I was relieved when I found them on the front porch with the big girls. When the rain let up, the big girls left and I later found the chicks had made their way inside the hen house, and they stayed inside there for most of the day.

Our spring starts flowing really hard when we have a heavy rain, but it never gets out of control like the dry stream bed. Since it flows out of the hillside, I guess there is only so much that can flow out of the hole at one time. It rained so hard yesterday that the water flowed out of our front yard, across the driveway, and into the spring branch.

We have a dry stream bed in our front yard. If you follow the dry stream bed back far enough, you’ll find a crotch of three hills, so all of that water rolling off the hills has to go somewhere. There is also a seasonal spring that only flows when it rains hard–flows right out of the hill. The dry stream bed, too,  only fills up when there is a really bad rain.

The first brown streak is the dry stream bed, the brown streak beyond that closest to the house is water flowing to the side of it down the hill and through our yard. There is a culvert underneath the gravel road that takes water from the dry stream bed to the pond, but it’s often too much water going through there for the culvert to handle.There are a lot of leaves and dead branches that get dislodged and they often form a log-jam at the culvert.

When there was a lull in the rain, I went outside and found that, sure enough, there was a log jam right where the culvert goes under the road. It was making the flow go right in front of the garden. Even though the garden is built up, it was flooding the first two rows with the backwash.

I got a hoe, waded the road to the other side, and dislodged the debris. It really started flowing and the water went down a lot after that, but continued to flow over the road for the rest of the day.

When I go out in the mornings to let the chickens out, Grace often follows me and sneaks into the building. There are mice in there that she likes to hunt. If she goes upstairs while I am cleaning the hen house, she often gets locked in there. During the worst part of the rain, I looked out and happened to see her in the window of the outbuilding.

There were two squirrels taunting her by crawling around on the ledge. You can see one of them to the upper left of the window. Often, there will be as many as 10 squirrels on the ground in front of the outbuilding eating leftover chicken scratch. A neighbor joked the other day that we were raising squirrels as well as chickens. It wasn’t far from the truth! I went to rescue Grace so she could sit in the window in the house to look outside (rather than the outbuilding). At least she had food, water and a litter box inside the house.

For today, everything has been washed clean, and a cool front has swept in after the rain to freshen things. We will have a day of reprieve today before the next round of storms bring more rain–about 7 inches–over the weekend starting on Friday. That will be a lot for our swollen creeks to handle.

It was in the low 40’s this morning. I cranked up the gas heater and started a fire in the wood stove. Though I am enjoying the beginnings of Spring and watching everything ‘green up,’ I still enjoy cold mornings in front of my wood stove. Grace is curled up on a towel in front of it.

With each morning, your day has been washed clean, too. You have a ‘do-over’ with a clean slate waiting to have your ‘today’ written on it.

Hope all of you have a great day today!

“Isn’t it nice to think that tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it yet?”

-L.M. Montgomery (Anne of Green Gables)

9 thoughts on “Didn’t it rain? Children, My Lord! Didn’t it Rain!

  1. Sorry you had to face the flood all by yourself, but it sounds like God was right there with you, too. You did a great job of clearing the jam at the culvert and getting the water back to flowing again. I am proud of you!

    Like

    1. I love you, Babe. 🙂 You are my number one fan!

      Today the water was way down, and I was able to see how much crud (branches and leaves) was actually in front of the culvert. I think I got most of it cleared out and I’m hoping it stays clear for the next round of rain. They are really hyping it up and I’m hoping it won’t be as bad as they think it will be.

      Like

  2. Thanks, Kara, for another refreshing look at life in the Ozarks. Glad you handled the chickens, and Grace and the log so well. Your pictures are beautiful. Karen

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    1. If you are simple-minded like me, there is never a dull moment in the Ozarks. :-)…but I know you are a country-girl at heart, too. 🙂

      We are due for ’round 2′ coming up this weekend. I hope things are dry your way! …but not TOO dry, because I know you have gardens.

      Like

    1. Oh, no! Now I have another great song to be stuck in my head. They call that an ‘ear worm’ when you have songs stuck in your head that won’t go away. Seriously, though…. Those old cartoons (and books) make me nostalgic. They don’t make them like that anymore.

      Like

    1. LOL! That would have been fun! I didn’t even think of it. So far, we only had rain last night and no flooding, but they are still saying we could get up to 6 inches before the weekend is out. So…I can pull out my swimsuit and inner tube if it floods again. 😉 If I flowed into the pond, though, that would be very yucky. I think it has a soft, mushy bottom.

      Sadly, I read a story about some canoe-ers that got stuck on the Buffalo River (not far away from us) last Wednesday. Canoe-ing is popular on the Buffalo river, and they apparently do it for days and camp along the way. The group had camped on the river bank. When all of that rain came through, they got stuck…eventually decided to canoe out in the flooded river. They each had their own canoe. They all tipped over. They searched for the body for two days…didn’t find it. They found two other canoe-ers in the group on the banks and rescued them. Very sad. The guy who is still missing (and presumed dead) was 65.

      I had a bad experience with Bud in a canoe once. It was in one of those man-made lakes that are all swampy and disgusting looking with dead trees and stuff. We overturned. 😦 It was one of the scariest things I’ve ever experienced, and I really don’t ever want to get into a canoe again. I get the shivers just thinking about that experience….and would you believe it? There were roaches in the water. Not joking. I guess they live in all of the dead trees. That added to the traumatic experience. 😦

      Like

  3. Well, I can understand your not wanting to get in that water! That’s why I love the lakes and rivers, streams, etc. up here because no bad things in the water. May have to deal with mosquitoes and ticks though.

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to read your comments!

