Update on the Price of Toilet Paper in Tête-à-la-Baleine

“I love daisies…They’re so friendly. Don’t you think that daisies are the friendliest flowers?” -Kathleen (Meg Ryan) in “You’ve Got Mail”

As you saw in my last post, we have been having LOTS of rain this spring! Consequently, the wildflowers have been BURSTING to life all over the place. We are loving it, the chickens are loving it and the bugs are loving it. Though it’s not a great picture, I found two bugs ‘doing it’ on the Queen Anne’s Lace.

“Birds do it, bees do it Even orange and black bugs do it… Let’s do it, let’s fall in love…”

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned it before, but we have been on a Ketogenic Diet. It’s basically an updated version of ‘Low Carb’ that is High Fat, Moderate Protein and Low Carb. I’m also reading Dr. Mercola’s new book, “Fat for Fuel” and there is a lot of science that supports the Ketogenic Diet to regain health. Bud and I both feel really good when we are on it. This is my favorite Keto Site.

The Diet Doctor

Of the recipes I’ve tried, there are very few I would not repeat.

I’ve been struggling with headaches, brain fog and fatigue ever since I came back from my hike. I have a history of headaches, but these have been different. The headaches have been incapacitating, and have continued even with a change in diet, vitamins, and having Bud pray for me. I think God can choose to heal any way he wants to….through prayer, through doctors, through diet or vitamins…I don’t understand sometimes, but I’m always eager to learn whatever I’m supposed to through it.

I really think this was to be an exercise, of sorts, for me. One day, after crying out to the Lord about the situation, at the end of my rope, I felt a strong urging to ask a particular friend to pray for me. I resisted at first…didn’t want to do it, but it’s not often I feel an urging like this. It wouldn’t go away. It wasn’t a nagging thing…it was gentle. It’s not easy for me to reach out, and especially hard to ask for help from anyone but Bud. I just suddenly felt strongly that at this particular time, for this particular situation, that it was very important that I ask this particular friend to pray for me.

Since I asked her to pray for me (which she graciously and happily agreed to), I’ve had more ‘good days’ in the past week than I have had in about 8 months! I’m praising God for it! I feel like a different person and the oppression I was feeling is gone. I’m not completely headache-free, but I have lived with headaches most of my adult life. I can happily settle for lesser headaches, but being able to function! I will keep seeking answers on this.

My neighbor (The Soap Lady) gave us about 2 Gallons of Strawberries she grew herself! Nothing tastes like home grown fruits and veggies. Strawberries are low carb, so we’ve been eating them mostly with whipped cream. Mmmmmm….

My Garden has been doing fairly well this year. I’m not always good about weeding. With all the rain, weeds have been hard to keep up with. We’ve gotten lots of Kale, and two kinds of Lettuce. My tomato and pepper plants are putting on fruit, my beans and cucumbers are growing, well….like weeds! I even have some zucchinis starting to grow!

Bud has had quite a few of his compositions for String Orchestra published! He even has a ‘Public Figure’ Page on Facebook and YouTube Channel now. Check it out!

Bud Woodruff – Composer

Bud’s YouTube Channel

I’m so proud of him!

Bud’s Mom passed away. She was 95, and had been in a Nursing Home with Dementia. What a dear lady she was, and what a legacy she left, not the least of which is the man she raised that I ended up marrying. She was also a perfect mother-in-law.

Bud credits her with being instrumental in his music career (no pun intended). She would play many types of music for him when he was very young, and taught him to appreciate music. I can’t say enough good things about her. She was quick to laugh, almost always had a smile and a kind word, she was loving and gracious. She was an amazing lady.

Bud had to leave for the funeral early to sign papers, in fact, he had to leave the day he found out about it. I really wanted to go with him, but had to follow several days later. It’s not easy to ‘chicken-sit’ around these parts because everyone lives so far away. It requires coming twice a day-to let them out in the morning and close them up in the hen house at night. I try very hard not to ask for ‘chicken-sitting’ favors except in emergencies. At the very least, I’m judicious in asking.

The Soap Lady agreed to do it for me. She loves Grace, too, (who can be a real toot, sometimes) and I felt really good leaving my animals in her care. She did an awesome job! Thank you, dear friend! The chickens and Grace were sorry to see me come home since you took such good care of them. They told me to leave again so you could come back. 😉

Out here in the country, we don’t get out much. Since I haven’t worked for a while, I had no nice dress to wear that fit and wasn’t 10 years out of date. I went to the Dress Barn in Branson and allowed the an older Sales Lady to help me pick a dress out. (That, too, was an exercise for me. I usually shun help from Sales Ladies. I even tried the dress on for her to see what she thought! Waaaay out of my comfort zone. She helped me pick out a very nice dress.

I had to get a hair cut, too, because I looked like the Shaggy D.A. I don’t even wear make up around here most of the time. My visit to the hair dresser was….a nightmare. Hair cuts are almost always traumatic for me. The guy I’ve been going to does good work. It’s always a good haircut, but it never turns out like the pictures I take in. I really wanted to look nice, and sort of up-to-date. I came out looking like Angela Merkel. I was embarrassed; however, I got several compliments on it at the funeral, so that made me feel better.

The drive to Houston was brutal. It’s 10 very long hours. My hiney was so sore by the time I got there. I chucked my diet for the trip and we had Fajitas from Gringos, and BBQ from Pappas Brisket House while we were there(…not to mention Waffle House for breakfast.) OMG. My two favorite things, and it was SO good. You just can’t get good BBQ or good Mexican Food in Arkansas.

We also got out cars washed at a very nice car wash in our old barrio, Deer Park. They even dried them off afterward. (Can you tell we haven’t been to the city in a long time? LOL!)

Bud and I stayed at an extremely nice Super 8 Motel. I got to watch The Weather Channel a lot, and the bed was very comfortable. It even had a mini-fridge. My only gripe was that I saw a roach (one of those big’uns) in the bathroom. I screamed and Bud came and killed it for me. It brought back memories…nightmares I’ve tried to forget. I’m so glad we escaped that hell hole called Houston…not only because of the Texas Sized Roaches, but because it feels like you are literally baking in the Devil’s oven.

The service for Bud’s Mom was very nice. I was able to see lots of people on Bud’s side of the family that I hadn’t seen in a while and that was extra nice. Bud and  I drove home together…following one another. Again, long and brutal, and it was nice to be back home.

We were so glad to be back home! Bud and I, introverts that we are, were both buzzing after the excitement and activity of being in the big city around…’people’ for several days. Truly, there is no place like our home in the country.

Hope everyone is having a good Thursday!

 

4 thoughts on “Update on the Price of Toilet Paper in Tête-à-la-Baleine

    1. I can see how it would be easy to make that mistake…even if you have the right glasses! 😀 It’s even worse when you have to actually SAY it! It sort of jumbles up like, “She sells sea shells by the sea shore”…only much more dangerous if you make a mistake.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Kara, I’m so sorry you haven’t been feeling well, but happy to hear you are doing better. Spiritual and physical healing when given as a healing and not a miracle take time and we learn lessons about how to eat right and live healthier and forgive those who’ve hurt us during that time of healing. After all, we want to keep the healing when we get it and that will only happen if we live and eat and deal with hurts the way God intended. We are going through this same process with Lew and his physical problems and have learned a lot. Is it time to go get some bloodwork done just to make sure everything is okay?
    I’m also so sorry about Bud’s mother. As we know, it is hard to lose a mother. Give him a hug from us. And congratulations on being published! I will listen to his work. Love you, Cynthia

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing that. I’m trying to explore all options, including spiritually. I even asked the friend when she prayed that I wanted wisdom, discernment…to learn what I need to learn or see what I need to see about myself, about the situation, to know if I need to go to the doctor and which one to go to, etc. Bud and I, too, pray together and for one another. I’ve just been at my whits end on this, with absolutely no answers. I’m grateful for the reprieve, but they are not completely gone. I had another bad one last night and woke up with it this morning…so if you feel so inclined, I’m open for prayers.

      I’ve only recently considered going to a doctor when they have been really bad and incapacitating. But I never get any answers from doctors, they only want to give me pills for symptoms. The neurologist wasn’t concerned at all about the headaches when I went for the MS symptoms in the beginning. Nothing but lesions showed on the MRI…I mean no tumors or anything. I hadn’t thought of blood work. I’ll consider that. Thank you for suggesting it. My neighbor told me that some of my symptoms are symptoms of CoQ10 deficiencies, so I’ve started taking that. I really think this is spiritual in nature because of how they come on, because of the oppression that comes with it, and how it responds to prayer, at times.

      Thank you also for the condolences to Bud. I will pass your sweet words on to him. Yes, you are right. Losing your mother is devastating. 😦 It has been pretty hard on him, but he doesn’t go on about it. I know him, so I can tell when something is really bothering him.

      Thank you for your comment and your concern. I love you, too. ❤

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

