‘Straight’ Talk on Homosexuality

If you have not yet done so, I hope you will go and read my previous post on ‘love’. It is my belief that this is the root cause of Homosexuality (or any other sexual sin, for that matter.) Quite simply, homosexuals (adulterers, fornicators, addicts, etc.) have a void, which is a deep-rooted need to be loved and they are looking for fulfillment in all the wrong places.

I have my own theories as to why I believe homosexuals choose to find love from their own sex, but that is not really what I want this post to be about. What it all boils down to, is that only Jesus will truly satisfy the core longing to be loved and validated, which is what Homosexuality is all about.

What I really want to talk about is how Christians relate to Homosexuals. Last time I checked my Bible, I could find no designation that any one sin we commit is worse than another. The Bible says that homosexuality is a sin, but so is fornication, adultery, pride, lying, hypocrisy, gluttony, idolatry, etc., etc., etc. That is…in GOD’S EYES, homosexuality is no worse than any of the other sins. Someone please correct me if I am wrong!

If this is so, then why do Christians feel that they must designate the sin of homosexuality as THE most horrible sin?  More to the point, why do people judge homosexuals so harshly, and why do they judge me for having homosexual friends on my Facebook? I wonder how many fornicators,  adulterers, gluttons, idolators and liars these judging people have as friends on their Facebook?

Do you know what Idolatry is? It’s ANYTHING in your life that you put before God, or which you spend more time with than Him or His pursuits. I would venture to guess that there are very few people who have absolutely NO idols of some kind in their lives. It’s a sin…and it’s no worse in God’s eyes than homosexuality.

I can make what I feel is a pretty accurate guess that homosexuals feel unloved, unlovable, rejected (by many people) and that many of them have some degree of self-hatred. Why, as Christians, would we want to hurt these people further?

We, as Christians, are called to love EVERYONE. Love your neighbor as yourself…not just those you like…not just those you agree with…not just those who make you feel good…not just those who are in your ‘clique’.

IT’S DIFFICULT!

How can we love Homosexuals without compromising our own beliefs? It’s a very difficult and fine line to walk. We can’t condone what they do. We can’t compromise what we believe to ‘make them feel better’…but do we outright reject them and treat them as a pariah?

There is a very strong argument that hanging around people who are wallowing in sin (any kind) will rub off on you. I get it. I agree with it. It’s something called an ‘ungodly’ soul tie. If you go into a smoke-filled room, there is no way you come out of that room and not smell like smoke. An ‘ungodly’ soul tie is a strong agreement you make with someone or some thing.

I’ve heard the example used of a son or daughter who goes to play with a new friend, and they come back and they are talking differently, using different words, they want to dress differently, they have a different attitude, etc.

The Bible says that

“Bad company corrupts good morals.”

“Don’t make friends with an angry man, lest you learn his ways.”

Have you ever had a friend who has been hurt by a mutual friend of yours? Then the friend came to you and told you how horribly the mutual friend treated them. But the fact of the matter is that you have only heard one side of the story…but you find yourself getting sucked in and you get angry at this mutual friend for treating your current friend horribly (or so you’ve been told). You are SO ANGRY that it is as if it has been done to YOU.

You’ve made friends with an angry man, and you have learned his/her ways. It’s an ungodly soul tie. Their angry feelings have tied you together and have transferred to you.

So we must be very careful about who our close friends are…because they WILL rub off on you. I think this is why ‘clean’ drug addicts are advised to form new friendships and not hang around people who are still in the thick of their addiction.

I bring up the above, because if you are closely associating with certain crowds, you will become like them.

So how do we relate to those who believe differently to us or who are wallowing in their ‘sin’?

Christians-

  1. You will not ‘win’ anyone by bashing them over the head with scriptures. As a Christian, you should have compassion for others, and want them to have what you have–Salvation, and the feeling of being accepted and loved just as Jesus loves you. You love HIM, because He first loved you.
  2. You are supposed to be “Jesus” to the world. That means loving like Jesus loved (see scriptures above). Don’t tell people what the Bible says. BE the Bible.
  3. These people have seen a lot of rejection-probably from their family of origin. They have probably felt rejected and unloved for most of their lives. Many of these people have been sexually abused. That damage lasts a lifetime. You will not win them with more rejection or abuse. You come off as yet another hateful, hypocritical ‘Christian’ who is nothing like Jesus.

Homosexuals and ‘Transgenders’– Where I draw the line:

1.) I cannot bake a cake for your ‘marriage’. To do so violates my beliefs–that homosexuality is wrong, is a sin, and God does not like it. I don’t want to do something I know displeases Him .

Why are you not going to the Muslim Bakery for your cake? Furthermore, why are you not insisting that the Muslim ‘Halal’ butcher serve you bacon? Your desire to make people conform to your beliefs does not perpetuate ‘equal rights’. It supports you having ‘special rights’–rights that supercede another’s right to freedom of religion.

Did your mother or father ever make you hug and kiss your sister or brother after you had a fight? Did it change your thoughts and feelings toward whatever you believed about your brother or sister prior to the hug? Did your parents ever make your brother or sister allow you to ‘tag along’ with them? Did it make you feel ‘accepted’? …or did you continue to feel as though they didn’t really want you around? I postulate that forcing Christians to do something they believe at their very core is WRONG, WILL NOT change their minds. We are not forcing you to believe what we believe. We are not forcing you to go to church. Don’t force us to support what you are doing. Go to a bakery that WILL make you a cake.

2. I cannot ‘like’ the picture of you and your ‘partner’ on Facebook. To do so, would compromise my belief that what you are doing is wrong. I cannot pat you on the back for what you are doing, or ‘make you feel better’ about it. Because really…that’s what you want. You feel uncomfortable with what you are doing, and if everyone else applauds you for what you are doing, it says, “You are okay.” …but you are not okay if you are not living God’s way. Been there, done that with other ‘sins’ in my life. You will never be ‘okay’ until you turn to Jesus and let HIM fill your void.

3. I will not support someone who was born a boy, and who still has a penis using the bathroom or locker room my daughter, my niece, my neighbors’ daughters use at school or any other place designated for ‘women only’.

Just because you ‘feel’ you are not the sex you were born does not mean that you ARE that sex. I’m calling it–“The emperor has no clothes!” If you have had surgery to remove your penis, and you must sit down to use the bathroom… if you look like a woman, then just go use the bathroom. Don’t draw attention to it, because it says that what you are doing is really not the issue. It says you want to raise a stink and draw attention to yourself. Why? Because you don’t feel comfortable and at peace with what you are doing, so you need everyone else to ‘validate’ you. Please see this post:

A Thing Called “Love”

LGBQT AND Christians–please read the following carefully, and notice all of the sins listed!

18 For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who suppress the truth in unrighteousness, 

19 because what may be known of God is manifest in them, for God has shown it to them. 

20 For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse,

 21 because, although they knew God, they did not glorify Him as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened. 

22 Professing to be wise, they became fools, 

23 and changed the glory of the incorruptible God into an image made like corruptible man—and birds and four-footed animals and creeping things.

24 Therefore God also gave them up to uncleanness, in the lusts of their hearts, to dishonor their bodies among themselves, 

25 who exchanged the truth of God for the lie, and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever. Amen.

26 For this reason God gave them up to vile passions. For even their women exchanged the natural use for what is against nature. 

27 Likewise also the men, leaving the natural use of the woman, burned in their lust for one another, men with men committing what is shameful, and receiving in themselves the penalty of their error which was due.

28 And even as they did not like to retain God in their knowledge, God gave them over to a debased mind, to do those things which are not fitting; 

29 being filled with all unrighteousness, sexual immorality,[c]wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, evil-mindedness; they are whisperers, 

30 backbiters, haters of God, violent, proud, boasters, inventors of evil things, disobedient to parents, 

31 undiscerning, untrustworthy, unloving, unforgiving,[d]unmerciful; 

32 who, knowing the righteous judgment of God, that those who practice such things are deserving of death, not only do the same but also approve of those who practice them. (Romans 1:18-32)

 

Christians,  I’m sure most of you are guilty of some of the above…and you are deserving of death (so say the scriptures)…just like the homosexuals. We are ALL sinners. That is why we need a savior. That is why you are no better than anyone else on the face of the planet. That is why you can’t point fingers at other people’s sin.

Let’s assume that you are sinless and have never done any of the above mentioned things. Just because you might not do these things, if you are ‘approving’ or ‘applauding’ what sinners do, the scriptures say you are also deserving of death. We all do this–we watch TV shows and movies full of people doing what we, ourselves, would not do. We read books full of this stuff. It’s wrong, and it not only displeases God. Most importantly, you leave a wide open door for satan to walk right through. Having had a problem with alcohol in the past, I don’t want to even go near it because I am so glad to be freed from that bondage. I don’t think I am better than you if you drink. I am FREE, and grateful, and I don’t want to slap God in the face by participating.

In 17 years, I have had one glass of wine, and that was because my bosses at the time (who coincidentally were gay) took us to a fancy dinner for helping to move the store. They ordered some very expensive wines for a ‘wine-tasting’. Not wanting to offend them, I had the equivalent of probably one glass of wine. I really regretted it. Not because I was tempted to fall into my old lifestyle, (though if I had continued to participate day after day, I might have)…it was because I had participated in something I was so in bondage to in my past and I never, EVER, want to go back to that place in my life. This is also one of the reasons Bud and I stopped performing in our German Folk Music Group. Many of the songs were about drinking, and encouraging people to drink. People came to listen to the music while they got drunk. That was the point.

Have I arrived? Absolutely not. I am including myself in all of the above list in the scriptures. I still struggle with some of the things on the list. I think MOST people do. I’m still learning to love. I’m still learning to forgive and release bitterness. I still don’t always handle situations right. I’m still a hypocrite sometimes.

I am not judging you. Please don’t judge me for having Homosexual friends on my Facebook, or anything else for that matter. You don’t know me. I can see beyond their ‘sin’, as God sees past mine. I can see a very lovable person and noble attributes in each and every one of them. More importantly, I see that they are hurting–just as I have hurt in the past. They are human beings, not monsters.

For my LGBQT friends (or anyone else who is wallowing in a sin you can’t just stop doing.) –What is the answer?

1.Recognizing it is the first step. You can’t change it, if you don’t recognize that it’s a problem in your life.

2. Repent of it, which means to turn away from the sin and try to stop doing it. This is key. Repenting is an act of your will, and it tells God that you mean business–that you don’t want to ‘wallow’ in your sin anymore or make excuses for it. You will probably fail. Repent again and keep trying.

3. Ask God for help. If you still love your sin, ask God to make you willing to change. He can and will change a willing heart.

4. Remove yourself from those who would entice you to sin. They will draw you back in and you will be tempted.

But how can you stop having inappropriate feelings? How can you stop sinning when you have an addiction? How can you love when you are broken?

RESIST THEM. Satan is trying to pull you back into it. Learn what the Bible says about you. Verbally refuse those feelings.

If you have addictions, sins you can’t conquer or inappropriate feelings for the opposite sex (or the same sex for that matter), in spite of trying to stop, it’s a demonic problem. Jesus and Biblical deliverance can help you.

If you want to know more about Biblical Deliverance, let me know. It’s real, and it works. It will bring help and changes you can’t make on your own, but it requires that you be willing to turn away from the sin, first, and no longer make excuses for it.

I realize this won’t be a popular post, but HEY, none of my posts have been popular, lately. However, I really, really felt I needed to get this off my chest. No seems to care about the Little House in the Ozarks or Me and Bud, so why can’t I write about what I want to write about? If you have made it this far, thanks for reading! I hope something I said rang a bell with you or made you see things from a different perspective.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “‘Straight’ Talk on Homosexuality

    1. I’m not sure, yet, if there will be another installment.

      Thank you for reading my post, and for being my number one fan! ❤

      I think it would be interesting to live with you in a Little House In The Ozarks. Want to? Not only would it be interesting, but it would be fun!

      Like

  1. Good words…I couldn’t agree with you more! By the way, guess what! We haven’t had any grape juice that turned into wine in about a year. And so, we met the challenge by abstaining totally, praise the Lord! I love you, Dad

    Like

    1. I’m not judging anyone. I have enough things inside my own circle to take care of. But since you shared it, it sounds like a good thing to me. Congrats! I love you, too.

      Like

I would love to read your comments!

